We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveller rating
520
480
170
57
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
520
480
170
57
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room starlight lounge ten pin bowling aztec bistro entertainment team kb sounds alberts bar indoor bowls star hotel other hotels family hotel land train evening entertainment leisure facilities great facilities steam room swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Midweek break.
Started off iffy but after key and room sorted thing got better.

Great food quality good, menu good to.
All areas clean,
Pool area clean and well maintained.
Pool bar offered good menu and reasonable priced drinks.
Well situated in town, bus stops out side so getting around was so easy.
Land train starts at the hotel to.
Staff very helpful .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank snapon69_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks for the review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Hotel needs refurbishment, very shabby. Creaky floorboards along narrow corridors and in rooms. Lifts too small. Redeeming feature is the restaurant. Good breakfasts from a series of food stations. Excellent dinner on final night.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank eunice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Eunice T, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you felt our hotel looks 'shabby'. I am unsure as to what elements you feel are shabby? Our corridors are narrow and this is unfortunately the history of the building. The corridors are due for a redecoration (I assume it is this part of the building that you are referring to). We address this prior to the main summer and have to redecorate them each year. As you have pointed out they are fairly narrow corridors and have very high traffic all year round. We have been a very popular holiday resort for over 50 years and commit to a high level of investment each year. Most of the public areas in the Derwent have been remodelled over the last few years when the Derwent achieved its third star. I am pleased you enjoyed the restaurant during your stay. You may wish to try one of our other hotels on our site on a future occasion if you enjoyed our nightly entertainment and 5* leisure facilities. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

First of the the toilets located on the ground floor open to all guests were filthy, you could tell they haven't been properly cleaned in a while which isn't great to start with... the rooms are clean and fairly spacious but they do need updating, especially the bathrooms. I have to say that the walls are very thin so could hear everyone in the hallway as they were waiting for the lift so had no chance of a lie in the whole time we were visiting! I have to give a mention to the food, we were on an events weekend and was disappointed by small portions and the quality, everything was clearly microwaved which meant dry tasteless meals. On a positive note the location is great and dependant on what floor you're on you have the potential of a good view over the sea (level 4 certainly did), the staff were also friendly and welcoming. Overall I'd say this hotel really lives up to it's 3 star rating...

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MarieAd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Annie Marie. Thank you for your review. I assume you are referring to the recent skittles weekend at which we had 450 skittle team players. It is unusual for us to get negative feedback regarding the cleanliness of our public toilets. I am aware that they were well used by all of the teams over the weekend most of whom were as always drinking a considerable amount. We expect this at this sole use event due to the nature of the groups 'pub skittles teams'. We will look at increasing the frequency of the checks carried out in the toilets over these weekends. I have checked them myself this morning having read your comment and they are very clean. Our food is not microwaved as suggested and the skittles events (5 each year) usually provide excellent feedback on the quality of food. I will pass on your comments to our head chef. As I was away the weekend I have spoken to the events organiser this morning to check how things went. They have again praised the weekend and thanked us for our efforts. I have made them aware of your comment (part of the review process). I would like to assure you we value your feedback and will look to address the issues you have raised. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We will NEVER ever go there again as our family holiday was ruined because my father in law fell and broke his hip because he was put in a room upstairs with steps from room he fell down them and with all the stress my mother in law ended up in hospital with pneumonia and all the general manager said we let you stay for two days for free and when we asked for compensation he said we should have ask to be moved they said they was full but the night porter said they had empty rooms by they but they were more expensive so they wouldn’t they us have them so we are not happy at all very very poor customer service

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Steveo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Steveo C. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you have decided to post a negative review after your stay. Having spent the weekend speaking with you and your family after I had heard your elderly father had fallen and broken his hip at a sister hotel I am surprised that you have decided to review us in such a manner. I have already responded to you via a private email prior to this review. The incident that occurred, unfortunate as it was, did not happen as a result of negligence on our part. Having reviewed the original booking there were no prior mentions of mobility issues at the point of booking. This I understand having discussed the nature of your father’s pre existing condition was the case. As a gesture of goodwill at the time I provided you with three rooms to enable you to be near to the hospital your relative was in. This was a free extension to your week long stay and had a significant value in excess of £700. I am aware that this enabled local family members to join your party over the weekend and make use of our facilities. I was originally pleased that this was the case given the circumstance that you found yourselves in. I met with some of your extended family members during the course of my enquiries over the weekend. I also suggested in my direct response to your email, as a further gesture of goodwill, without you having taken holiday insurance we may choose to reimburse the remaining days that your father missed due to his accident. This is the first response I have seen from you since my email. I tried to make it clear in my responses why we had provided what we have to date and what we may be prepared to consider given that these are gestures of goodwill. I would have hoped that my approach to you whilst you were here and since were personal, considered and above all excellent customer service. You had not requested to see me when I originally made contact. I checked in with you and your family everyday to see how things were going and made several goodwill gestures. This is far beyond what I believe others would have done in similar situations. Your family thanked me on numerous occasions for our caring and attentive manner. I would ask that you pass on my regards to these family members. Again, I am truly surprised by your review; however accept that this may be your personal perception. I am sorry that you will not be visiting us again and wish you and your family well. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

As a coach driver, I stayed here for 5 days, I had 60 passengers and have to say, not one complaint at all from any of them. In my job, I stay in different hotels of all types most nights, and i do mean different hotel most nights.
I could not fault the food or staff in any way whatsoever, it was all beautifully cooked with good quality ingredients, and the portion sizes were as large as you wanted the staff were attentive and could not do enough for you.
OK, so the rooms were not the absolute best, but the food, staff and facilities really compensated for this.
I do hope that I will have the chance to stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews