We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and lots to do”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friendly staff and lots to do”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Four of us girls!! stayed recently for a spa treat and we had a lovely time as everyone was so friendly and helpful. The food was really good and being a vegetarian I sometimes find it difficult to find a choice of food but there were no problems here. We had a mix of facials and pedicures and the girls who treated us were lovely and did not expect us to buy the products which is something we have experienced before and find very irritating. We enjoyed the singing by the hotel singers but [and this is the only criticism] we found the comedy side a bit tired and not very acceptable for the 21st century.
However this is the second visit for two of us and we came with 2 new visitors this time and all of us will be returning again. Thank you Carlton Hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesriggann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read you and your friends had a great stay and the team looked after you so well.

We always provide a home cooked vegetarian option each night on our menus and I am glad you enjoyed them.

We try to provide a variety of entertainment to suite the wide range of guest that stay on site each night. Everyone has different tastes and we aim to put something on that everyone will enjoy throughout their stay.

We look forward to welcome you all back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    244
    64
    19
    7
See reviews for
230
135
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Torquay is a lovely holiday destination and The Carlton Hotel, part of TLH is a brilliant place to stay. Whether you're holidaying as a couple, a family or even alone the hotel has so much to offer, delicious breakfast & evening meals, friendly & helpful staff, entertainment, spa & fantastic swimming pools. Only a short walk from the beach, harbour & town its ideally situated too.

Room Tip: Corner rooms tend to be larger. You can also request upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review about your stay.

I am pleased that you enjoy the Hotel, the facilities and service we offer and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed with 2 kids age 15 and 11 in February 2012 and was very impressed with the hotel and complex. Excellent pool and amusements very good with great pool tables and snooker tables and table tennis along with good value ten pin bowling alleys at good price.

Family room was fine for a few days stay but I must say how impressed I was with the food which was excellent! We have stayed in many hotels but both the breakfast and evening meal were as good as any , excellent quality and service, really impressed.

Woul definitely recommend this hotel and will return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHIL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for your review of the Carlton Hotel.

We aim to provide a great value holiday for all the family with excellent food, service and outstanding leisure and entertainment facilities. We obviously have ticked all the boxes for you and your family.

Thank you for recommending us to friends and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlton again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Have stayed in this hotel three times and will consider returning.

Standard of bedrooms vary. Riviera Front Facing family recommend. Fabric of some parts of hotel little bit tired, could do with an investment to decorate and refurbish.

Excellent facilities within complex - pools superb, dance hall entertainment great for the kids.

Quality of Evening meals has improved although choice not extensive.

Strange to say, but very warm hotel. Bedrooms hot!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyGuyWales39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad that you and your children enjoying coming to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a lovely stay once again at the Carlton hotel with my nine year old for February half term. It is however, looking a bit tired. The lift is ancient, and some of the decor is very scruffy. Also the small children's swimming pool had a heating problem and was cold, and by the time we left the jacuzzi had broken too. However the food was lovely, the staff were great and if the weather is poor there is really no need to venture outside. It's great place to pass a wintry half term (which is what we've been doing for years) Had some bracing walks on the beach and a walk around the town with an ice-cream and daughter made lots of friends at the Toby club. All in all, if you don't expect designer furniture and posh wallpaper, you'll have a lovely time. Oh, and Wifi was a lot easier to access and free - another bonus.
Tip to management: random posters stating 'no photography, lift bit temperamental,' etc look incredibly tacky. If you have to do it, pay someone to make it look professional.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a sea view as it's a pretty boring one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carty123000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for your review on your recent stay over the half term.

I am really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and in particular the food and staff.

Unfortunately there was a major fault with the boiler system on our smaller pool, which caused the temperature to drop to 27 degrees instead of its usual 31 degrees. This took a few days to rectify, however I am pleased to say that it is now up and running again. In my time of working here this was the first time this had ever happened (and hopefully the last) but I apologise that this happened during your stay.

I have also been to look at the signage you mentioned and I agree that these can be vastly improved. We have a design department who produce all our posters, brochures and marketing material, but occasionally a staff member trying to help will produce a poster and put it up in a hurry. I have now requested company branded posters and these will be replaced shortly, thanks for pointing this out.

The décor of the hotel is an on going scheme and a lot of work has and will continue to be carried out on redecoration this year. I know that our rooms are not on a 5 star luxury standard, but we do ensure they are always well presented, exceptionally clean, comfortable and well maintained. As you mention in your review the food, service, excellent facilities and entertainment provided at the hotel give a great value family package in a 3 star rated hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we value our guests and we do listen to their feedback to help us to continue to improve on what we offer and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.7 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,827 reviews
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,103 reviews
2.2 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing