We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$148
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$364
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$131
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
215
32
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
32
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilly wonkahigh standardpianist playingbowling greensignature roomroom safebath robes and slipperslarge showerclass hotelfree parking and wifirecommend this hotelpetit fourswork commitmentswalk in showerfresh milk in the fridgesauna and steam roomfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hi,
On our last evening of a four night stay at Belgrave Sands. This hotel is so far away from the usual anyglypta wallpaper with 25 coats of paint as you could find.
Everything is very modern , the staff extremely friendly and the rooms are what you would expect from a four star hotel.
The food is stunning , a special thank you to the chef for that pleasure, and an even bigger thank you to Callum who looked after us each evening, the perfect mix of professionalism and humour, a real asset to the hotel.
My only negative is I would not stay here in peak season for fear of hot weather as the rooms have no air conditioning, our room was unbearably hot for two nights of our stay but apart from this you will not find a better hotel in Torquay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave_Sands, General Manager at The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good evening Ian B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic comment about the hotel, especially regarding your enjoyable meals and how well you were looked after by Callum. I have told him about this review and he is absolutely over the moon especially as he has only been working for us for just over a month and this is his first job as a waiter.

I am sorry to hear you found your room to be hot, we have had an unusually hot and muggy period this past few weeks (approximately 25 degrees most days) so it has been difficult to keep cool wherever you go, including my own house! We do have a plan to better ventilate the corridors, which should cool down the whole hotel through the summer noticeably.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kim & The Belgrave Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and I would like to say we have stayed at alot of hotels around the world and this by far is up there with the best. The staff were all so helpful and professional with a special mention for Callum who gave the most attentive and professional service I have received anywhere. The food breakfast and dinner was exceptional and we most certainly will be returning

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave_Sands, General Manager at The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good evening Louise B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a marvellous review. What can I say? I am just so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, found your meals exceptional and that you were so well looked after by the team, especially Callum! I have told him about this review and he is over the moon that you have mentioned him personally as he has only been with us for just over a month and this is his first job as a waiter!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Torquay.

Kindest regards,

Kim & The Belgrave Sands Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food, great atmosphere, lovely polite staff. I can honestly say I have Never tasted carrots or cauliflower cheese that tasted so wonderful. The gravy on my roast beef was absolutely delicious. My starter was phenomenal,it was potted duck pate and smoked duck. Well done to The Belgrave sands.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jaccccccc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave_Sands, General Manager at The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning jaccccccc2015,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review about your Sunday Roast with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! I will definitely pass you comments on to our wonderful team of chefs.

Kindest regards,

Kim & The Belgrave Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed for two nights at this hotel.The accommodation was very good and the meal were excellent. We found the staff to be very helpful. One slight criticism is the Hotel is extremely warm although there is an electric fan in each room. Unfortunately Torquay it's self looks very tired and a bit run down, but there is some redevelopment taking place.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave_Sands, General Manager at The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good evening Anthony S,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very complimentary review about your stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you found your room comfortable, your meals excellent and the team helpful.

I am sorry you found your bedroom to be very hot during your stay, we have had unusually hot weather this past couple of weeks (approximately 25 degrees) and so my bedroom at home was very hot too. To try to combat this in the future, we are waiting for a delivery of fire alarm sensitive door stops so we can keep the corridor doors open which should increase the air ventilation throughout the whole hotel. We are hoping this will make a tremendous difference on those extra hot days.

I am extremely sad to hear your negative comments about Torquay on such a public forum. The council are trying very hard and doing a lot of redevelopment in the town centre, but sadly, like many small towns in the UK, we are loosing some of the bigger shops. We hope that we will have some small independently owned boutique shops take their place to make Torquay really special.

Further to this, we have the most beautiful sea front and promenade, a fantastic harbour, a wonderful selection of bars and eateries from fish & chips to fine dining and everything in between, a theatre which hosts great shows year round as well as other marvellous attractions, brilliant transport links by bus, train, steam train or boat to neighbouring towns and I could go on and on. I really hope this comment doesn't put people off coming to Torquay, as in my opinion it is beautiful and a great place for a Great British holiday!

Kind regards,

Kim & The Belgrave Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a 2 night mini break on my own.
The single bedroom is plenty big enough and very nicely finished with all the usual refinements plus little touches like a suprise mini cake in the fridge.
The hotel is immaculately presented and the breakfast is delicious with the usual buffet plus cooked to order hot dishes.
Very close to the beach and with plenty of free parking this hotel is ideally positioned for exploring Torquay on foot.
The swimming pool, sauna and steam room are an added bonus.
Both nights I ate in the restaurant having the 6 course dinner. Amazing quality food, couldn't fault any of it and the staff were also lovely and helpful in picking which delight to opt for next.
You will not be disappointed by this hotel and I will definitely be back!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrave_Sands, General Manager at The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning Ian R,

All I can say is thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly that you liked your welcome treat, enjoyed your meals and found the team to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Kindest regards,


Kim & The Belgrave Sands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews