We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab service , food and rooms ...............”
Review of Stover Lodge Hotel

Stover Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #42 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was booked as a last minute idea because we wanted to go to Newton Abbot Races. The place was perfect , clean , tidy , friendly and a breakfat that was huge by most places standards.If it is a gripe I would ask that you give us the option of mugs or cups both in the rooms and at breakfast , I drink amazing amounts of tea and the little cups were constantly being filled ..... The room which we were told on arrival wasn't one on their largest and it wasn't but we found perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. The bathroom you could have eaten your dinner off of the floor such is Alisons attention to bathroom cleaning ( according to her husband) .... I have stayed in smaller and after all you don't spend your day in your room !!!! The decor is lovely and David and Alison are welcoming , there is a bus stop just outside and this will take you to Torquay Centre , Paington or Brixham You can also walk to the town centre which will take you about 15 minutes (downhill) it's the coming back up ... but there are a few pubs on route to wet your whistle ... We asked if they could recommend anywhere to eat in Paingnton and they offered to ring a few people and get ideas .... Thats service for you ..... Car park is adequate although on leaving we did have to ask a gent to move his car so we could get ours out. All in all a brillian place to stay and I hope Dave enjoyed his day out on the 57 footer ................ Thanks ..........

Room Tip: Book Early
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Codmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Stover Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Me and my partner booked very last minute and were lucky to be given the last room available (room 6 - I think). We had an extremely warm welcome (shown where things were, shown to our room etc etc) and Alision stated that our room was the smallest however they were sorry as they were fully booked up. When she opened the door it was a great suprise! The room was a lovely double room (extremely clean!) and a lovely (again clean) ensuite - with lots of lovely personal touches! We had a fantastic stay here and will definately be returning! Each morning breakfast was beautiful! and they even remembered what I did and didn't like for breakfast! They gave us a personal welcome and were very quick and efficient. We knew that if we ever needed help we could ring the bell and they would be there! Dave made our morning with his cheerful chat and humour! and always giving us advice about places we wanted to travel - what he would recommend and how it was best to travel there. We honestly can not recommend The Stover Lodge Hotel enough - we didn't want to leave and move to our next destination!

Room Tip: Book early! although even if you end up with the smaller room like us you will not be disapointed!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyLouise481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

What a find this is! Ideally located near to train and bus links and the beautiful towns and seafront... the place itself isso clean and charming and the hosts cannot do enough for you. Any diet is catered for and the breakfasts each morning were delicious and perfectly cooked. All rooms are spotless with teas, biscuits and fresh towels provided. Perfect for all age groups and family trips. Also a delight to see so many different birds outside feeding whilst you eat! Great value and somewhere that we will be returning very soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitchming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We got a late booking after something else we had planned fell through but were lucky to get a room as they are booked out all summer. BTW book direct and not through lastminute you'll get a better price !
We took room 5 which is an executive double which was a bright spacious room with a good size en-suite shower room. Both the room and the en-suite were absolutely immaculate, with some nice touches like soap dispensers for the sink and the shower and cotton wool pads. Also a good selection of hot drinks and bonus shortbread biscuits !!
Excellent breakfast, with cereals, grapefruit and cooked full english.
Good location with a pleasant stroll into town centre via several pubs !
Owners couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating, and the room was made up beautifully every day
Only small points for us were that breakfast was early for a weekend (08.15 - 09.00) but we skipped one and had a lay-in, and the road at the front is pretty busy but with the window closed it wasn't a problem. Could also maybe have a super kingsize bed as there is space for it but the double was very comfy.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alblue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is a 5x B&B.The rooms are spotlessly clean,the beds very comfortable,& the full english breakfast is a must which,coupled with a warm welcome equals great value for money

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alford66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#35 of 149 in Torquay
189 reviews
0.0 km away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 149 in Torquay
206 reviews
0.2 km away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#20 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#8 of 149 in Torquay
714 reviews
0.4 km away
Abingdon House
Abingdon House
#40 of 149 in Torquay
205 reviews
0.9 km away
Buckingham Lodge
Buckingham Lodge
#53 of 149 in Torquay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stover Lodge Hotel

Address: 29 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: €64 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stover Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing