We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel for car drivers”
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The car park is a dingy one, under Mecca Bingo. No obvious signage as to how to get to the hotel for residents and it's £10 per day.

Receptionist really uninterested. No card details were asked for which meant I couldn't order room service or have drinks on the room bill, until I went and sorted out.

View miserable.

Had a family room and only had one towel and two pillows. Apparently 'we are full and will try and get you more'. Which they did.

Agree that the lifts are also a nightmare and have a mind if their own and you often spend a lot of time going to floors you don't need to.

Building and area appear tired and filthy (outside).

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,443 - 2,447 of 2,620 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for my sons passing out parade, we had not been told about the voucher for overnight parking so on arrival did the pay and display, only then to be told it cost £6.00 for the overnight parking, we had already paid £4.so in the end it cost us the same so wad not discounted, if yor staying here just pay for the hours up to 5pm as the voucher only kicks in after then. Found having to use room key for
the lift a bit of a bind.
Breakfast we opted just for a continetal as this was only £2.50
went to get some crossiants only to be told they would take 20mins
The toaster well its either dry bread or charcoal -the choice is yours
After highlighting this point to someone was told we are always busy this time of the morning !! And the hotel have franchised the food out to another company

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Me and my sister stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was ok for a 3-star hotel. Nice and clean room and good location in the city. The staff seemed a bit uninterested in their work. But the worst was the food! Breakfast was ok, although not much of a buffet. The restaurant was a huge disappointment! Warning - don´t order the pizza! It was the worst we´d ever had. The pizza-bread tasted like "ready-maded" frozen - thick and dry, and the cheese was uneatable! We had a hard time getting the attention of the waitress as well. We had to go to the counter to pay. Bad service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeligu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This hotel is great. The room was very clean and had all the basic items (tea/coffee, soap, body wash, shampoo/conditioner etc)
A good number of TV channels to choose from too.
The bed was very comfortable and came with extra pillows and covers.
The only down side could be that it is situated on a very busy road. This of course is no problem if you can sleep through it but it is worth a mention.
Great location being in the center of town.. for convenience and views.
Breakfast was ok. Sometimes not a great deal to choose from but you get all the basics.
Most staff (with the exception of the bar staff) appeared to know what they were doing and were helpful and friendly.
Overall a really nice place to stay. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMonster1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Over tue past 2 years I've stayed in a number of hotels across the UK, but never have I been so angered and frustrated at a hotel that I felt that I should review it the second I walked into my room until now.

I always look for 2 things in a hotel - on site parking and a gym (the 2nd not a priority but always gets my reservation over a hotel that doesn't). This seemed to have both so a room was booked. A few miles outside of Plymouth I decided to give the hotel a call to confirm the parking facilities but my call rang off after 5 mins. I tried again and went through to reservation ls instead. There I was told that parking was 'across the road in Drakes Circus', the local shopping centre. I parked and carried my heavy luggage the 5/10 mins 'across the road' to the hotel where I saw an entrance to a car park underneath the hotel!! I was told at reception that this was not theirs but a recent agreement allowed residents to park there, 'reservations obviously weren't aware of this', I was told. I was then confronted with a lift that had a mind of it's own as it uses your room card to get it going. I think I met half of the residents as I travelled up and down with a number of them hopping on and off before finally getting to my floor.

The final straw was the 'gymnasium' or 'fitness room' as I was informed by reception. This is the same as being told you're getting a top of the range executive car and having a 1978 Ford Cortina with 200k miles on the clock. 4 cardio machines and a mat does not maketh a gym!!!

I'm a very mild mannered and accepting business traveller normally but I don't think I'll be staying here again somehow.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Palace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
177 reviews
4.8 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,097 reviews
3.9 km away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,066 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
0.8 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: €56 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth offers the perfect city centre location from which to explore the beautiful city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. The world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive away. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable, newly designed bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Plymouth England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing