We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at reasonable prices!”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #63 of 782 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our bistrot is housed within Royal William Yard, considered to be one of the most important groups of historic military buildings in Britain. It was built by the Royal Navy between 1825 and 1835 and provided the Navy, at home and sea, with food and drink. Bistrot Pierre’s ‘raison d’être’ is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner and breakfast at weekend we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That’s why you’ll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

I was very impressed with the food and the service. There was a nice gap between courses, not like some restaurants who bring the food far too quickly between courses so you feel rushed. There was no problem staying after to finish our drinks, friendly staff. Recommended.

Thank BritGirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks,

Emily Bentley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Busy, noisy and we were unfortunately placed near the open kitchen so for us ugly. However, we had some TERRIBLE fries that tasted like yesterday's macdonalds and they quickly replaced them with fresh veg and potatoes so that was very good. Service great and staff really helpful.

Thank Leonora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Good Morning,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback from your most recent visit with us, and I am sorry to hear it wasn't up to our normal standards. We are a lot of the time a very busy restaurant, but in December we are fully booked most days with lots of large group bookings, dining with us mostly for their x-mas work do, or family parties, so I completely know what you mean when you say it was busy and very noisy. Normally we are able to shuffle the bookings and move guests if they are not happy with their table, but due to the bookings on that evening, this was impossible. I appreciate the lovely feedback about the staff and I will be sure to pass this on to them, as positive feedback is just as important :) I have spoken to the kitchen about the fries you recieved, making sure they keep a close eye on the amount of time they are in the fryer for, but I am glad to hear the issue was rectified with fresh vegetables and potatoes. Many thanks again and we do hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Emily Bentley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Travelling from Australia we met up with friends who recommended this place and new one of the Chefs!
Not at all dissapointed this was a classy place beautifully decorated with festive touches and beautifully lighting made this feel like a special night. Excellent food excellent service wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this plac3 to anyone....first class.

Thank pomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review! All the team will be delighted to read it.

Enjoy your stay here and hope to see you soon!
Warm regards,
Raminta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

The food is always amazing and great value for money. The service could be improved, we had to ask 3 times for our drinks which I could see on the bar. I understand that the waitresses and waiters are extremely busy however it is frustrating as a customer. This doesn’t stop us visiting though and I would thoroughly recommend as the food is amazing!

Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Good Morning.

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback we always enjoy hearing back from our customers as all thoughts are taken on board. I do apologise about the delay in you drinks as I completely understand its frustrating to have to ask as well as wait when your dinning out, I will be speaking to the staff members and bar men in order to get the drinks out on time when ordered as it is our duty to always have our customers leave happy.

we look forward to seeing you again soon.
warm regards
Pascale M
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Good quality food, tasty and the atmosphere there was jovial and friendly, we had a two course lunch, there was plenty to eat, without being too full, excellent value for money, just one observation, we asked for new potatoes instead of chips with the main meal and we were just charged for both, the waitress didn't make a note of it, that was the only complaint.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank rhian24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Good Morning.
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback we always enjoy hearing from our customers as we take all feedback on board.

secondly I would like to apologise about the mix up/wrong order taking by your waitress as we always strive to keep our customers happy and for this I apologise.

were delighted to hear you enjoy the atmosphere and value for money our restaurant offers.

we look forward to seeing you again soon.
kind regards
Pascale M
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;