We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveller rating
352
402
216
89
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
402
216
89
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand old hotelcar parktraditional hotelsash windowssuperior roomlounge barplymouth pavilionsroom was largebeautiful buildingporridgeferry portfour poster bedfull englishpublic areascooked breakfastcity centretheatre royal
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Great surrounding, totally a business lunch spot during the week.
We only found it because of where we parked. We could see the patio from our parking spot.
Blasting hot day and a Sunday with no place to park anywhere.. but there is this lot (expensive) with enough room for our large SUV.
Only 2 tables of people in the whole place. We wanted a beer.. a Stella.. perfectly poured great temperature.
I had the Moroccan Stew.. good but too peppered.
Husband had the bangers and mash .. he discribes as adequate.. He’s English..
All in all not amazing but a nice spot.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director or Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Good afternoon Kathy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are slightly confused and think you may have us confused with another venue as the items you have mentioned are not something we serve at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Probably Plymouth's premier hotel in its heyday and still a very grand building. Our suite was generously proportioned with a large bathroom and good sitting area. By modern standards it probably needs some updating but it's very comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and welcoming. A good dinner in the restaurant and reasonably priced. For a pleasant change from the norm the breakfast was individually served, rather than having to self-serve from a congealed buffet. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments, it is appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay at the hotel and that breakfast as to your liking. We agree that it makes a difference to have breakfast cooked to order for each guest and are pleased that you were able to enjoy this.

As an independently run hotel, the owners invest a huge amount each year on refurbishment, we have an annual programme investing in the public spaces as well as the bedrooms. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you are able to see the ongoing investment in all areas of this grade two listed hotel. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We visited the Duke for a meal with friends. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly, attentive staff who could not do enough for us. We’ve eaten in most of the restaurants in Plymouth but this is up there with the very best. I had the steak with blue cheese sauce which was incredible, my wife had lamb which she assures me was equally as good. Drinks and food all reasonably priced for the quality. After dinner we retired to the bar which was managed by friendly staff. Only upon leaving did we realise the Duke has two rosettes for its dining and we can see why. Thank you to all of the staff, we shall visit again soon.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ksmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Good afternoon, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a five star review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and have passed your lovely feedback on to our Chef, who is delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

i booked a room, and was suprised to find we had a suite with a four poster bed. Very comfortable stay, staff were friendly and helpful. A short walk from the Theatre Royal, the Hoe and City Centre so an ideal location for exploring Plymouth.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quietest.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel central for Plymouth hoe,shops and theatre. The staff where very helpful a credit to the hotel.I booked a premier twin room for my friend and I,We had a separate little lounge in the room which was very nice.The hotel had a lift that was very handy as we where on the fourth floor.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review, it is really appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews