We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveller rating
361
410
215
90
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
410
215
90
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand old hotel car park traditional hotel sash windows superior room plymouth pavilions lounge bar beautiful building room was large ferry port porridge four poster bed full english cooked breakfast city centre theatre royal one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Probably Plymouth's premier hotel in its heyday and still a very grand building. Our suite was generously proportioned with a large bathroom and good sitting area. By modern standards it probably needs some updating but it's very comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and welcoming. A good dinner in the restaurant and reasonably priced. For a pleasant change from the norm the breakfast was individually served, rather than having to self-serve from a congealed buffet. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments, it is appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay at the hotel and that breakfast as to your liking. We agree that it makes a difference to have breakfast cooked to order for each guest and are pleased that you were able to enjoy this.

As an independently run hotel, the owners invest a huge amount each year on refurbishment, we have an annual programme investing in the public spaces as well as the bedrooms. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you are able to see the ongoing investment in all areas of this grade two listed hotel. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We visited the Duke for a meal with friends. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly, attentive staff who could not do enough for us. We’ve eaten in most of the restaurants in Plymouth but this is up there with the very best. I had the steak with blue cheese sauce which was incredible, my wife had lamb which she assures me was equally as good. Drinks and food all reasonably priced for the quality. After dinner we retired to the bar which was managed by friendly staff. Only upon leaving did we realise the Duke has two rosettes for its dining and we can see why. Thank you to all of the staff, we shall visit again soon.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ksmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Good afternoon, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a five star review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and have passed your lovely feedback on to our Chef, who is delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

i booked a room, and was suprised to find we had a suite with a four poster bed. Very comfortable stay, staff were friendly and helpful. A short walk from the Theatre Royal, the Hoe and City Centre so an ideal location for exploring Plymouth.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quietest.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel central for Plymouth hoe,shops and theatre. The staff where very helpful a credit to the hotel.I booked a premier twin room for my friend and I,We had a separate little lounge in the room which was very nice.The hotel had a lift that was very handy as we where on the fourth floor.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review, it is really appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We arrived on the 9th July 2018 and were immediately impressed by the stylish well kept exterior with beautiful planting of troughs and hanging baskets and the graceful interior with sweeping staircase (there is also a lift). We were greeted by two very helpful ladies on reception who spotted a parking space we had missed in the hotel car park. The room was very large, superbly clean, and the bed the biggest we have ever had in a hotel. The view from the window allowed us to see (but not hear) the arrival and sailing of ferries at Millbay docks. Our room had a wet room shower with a very powerful shower which always provided plenty of hot water. We dined in the restaurant the first night and had a delicious lamb dish served with minted feta cheese, the service and food was superb. On other nights, as we had dined at the various properties we had visited (including Morwellham Quay, Cotehele, Mount Edgcumbe House and Saltram House or at the Wet Wok on the Hoe or Bistrot Pierre in Royal William Yard) we just had a bar snack which was as expertly prepared and presented as the main restaurant. Breakfast and the waiting staff are a delight - full English, Kippers, Poached Haddock or Continental all hot food cooked to order. Parking spaces are limited but we only had to park one night at Western Approach car park, 10 minutes away, before we regained a space in the hotel. On road meter parking is available near by. The hotel itself is a delight for lovers of high Victorian architecture, although rooms have up to date fixtures TV and Wifi, and the communal areas are kept spotless. Special mention to the ladies who keep the glass throughout the hotel fingerprint free on a daily basis.

Room Tip: We were on the Citadel Road side
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila N, Director of Marketing at The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Good morning, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a five star review, it is really appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We love the hanging baskets outside the hotel, it is lovely to see how they change through the seasons and is a lovely welcome to our guests. We are pleased to hear that your room was comfortable and that you were able to enjoy the ferries arriving, we love to watch them from the Tower where you can also experience 360 degree views of the city!

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in our Restaurant and bar meal in the Lounge Bar, our Head Chef Nick and his team are amazing at what they do and have a real passion for the wonderful food we serve. We're pleased to hear that you were also able to visit some local Restaurants and attractions during your stay, we are lucky with our central location and are in close proximity to lots of wonderful places. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team and as you say, a special mention to the lovely ladies who keep the glass spotless!

Thank you so much again for leaving such a detailed review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, The Duke Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews