We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveller rating
699
411
249
127
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
411
249
127
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magdalen chapter eye hospital the indoor outdoor pool ren toiletries mini bar public car park deluxe room nespresso machine limited parking log burner public rooms eggs benedict reception area reception desk restaurant staff sunday lunch modern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

2nd visit not as great as first
1st visit was last October and was 100% better
Upgraded to a superior room as we had cosy room on first stay
Room no different in fact felt a bit less spacious
Only difference was we faced the rear of hotel but overlooked a roof
Menu in restaurant had changed
Restaurant was busy
They forgot our wine and we waited 20 mins before finally attracting someone’s attention
Didn’t have the starter we wanted
Didn’t have the desert we wanted
Then added a £10 service charge to the bill despite this its a Beautiful hotel with lots of character
Sunny day with great outdoor heated pool with lovely surroundings
Staff are very helpful so some positives
Would we return
Probably not !

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bj1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Guest
I am so sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent return visit to Hotel du Vin Exeter. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in service in the restaurant and that some items on the menu were out of stock at the time your ordered. I am sure you appreciate that all our food and ingredients are fresh and ordered daily, at particularly busy times certain dishes can be in high demand and it not possible to have limitless stocks of every menu item. I am so sorry that this affected your favoured starter and dessert.
Thank you for your positive feedback about the garden, surroundings and lovely staff. Please do contact me directly should you consider a return visit. We will confirm your stay history and offer you a complimentary upgrade and favourable terms on your next visit.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We were given champagne tea for 2 at HDV as a present so we thought we'd book into the hotel and make a weekend of it. We received a friendly welcome on arrival and our "standard" room, whilst being quite small, was well appointed and tastefully decorated and furnished. Breakfast was perhaps the least impressive thing - slowish table service and not an overwhelming choice but it was satisfactory. The champagne tea was outstanding - delicious and one or two quirky twists included! All in all, a most relaxing mini break.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Andrew
Thank you for your 5 star review - we are delighted that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for your lovely feedback reagring the Champagne Afternoon Tea. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Stayed here one night on business, with others.
Really nice room, efficient staff, and a very good dinner.
Spoiled by a poor breakfast, where the one chap serving was overwhelmed, coffee took 10 minutes, and we never got to order a cooked breakfast.
But a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 635happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your room , the staff and dinner. Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay to service with your breakfast. We have investigated this and it appears the kitchen printer was not working properly and thus there was a delay in receiving the order in the kitchen.
We do hope you will visit again.Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Great history to a beautiful building. A lot of quirky original features remain but the layout and design is lovely. Great outdoor seating area which is perfect on a sunny day. We were allowed an early check in which was fab and shown to our room. No luggage services. Parking is also limited out the front. We stayed in a superior room. Lovely and clean. Really comfy bed. Lighting and air con easy to use and comfortable. Main issue is the banging bedroom doors that kept us awake a lot of the night and can give you quite a fright. The pool was lovely on a sunny warm day however on a rainy cold day, I feel this facility would be pointless and the photos make it look better than it is. The indoor pool is barely a pool and more a plunge pool size! The bar staff are friendly and make great cocktails. We found the restaurant quite formal and not overly relaxing to dine in. The food is nice but I think places nearby in the quay may be nicer and more relaxing. Check out was easy.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wilsoj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed review following your recent visit. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our pool is heated to 29 degrees year round so is also lovely to swim in during the winter - you can get into the water inside and use the water jets or swim outside without getting cold.
I am sorry you found the restaurant slightly formal for your taste, as we like to think we offer very good service in a relaxed atmosphere.
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel du Vin Exeter in the future. Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

This is probably my third or fourth review of this hotel but after our last stay I felt I needed to write one more! We stay at this hotel as much as we can (when we can get babysitters!) and always have the best time here. This time we arrived super late so ordered cocktails on our way to our room and Benji the barman kindly brought the drinks to our room so we could get settled. We then went for dinner in the restaurant and were looked after by Christine who has looked after us there on numerous occasions and has always been so friendly and goes out of her way to ensure we are happy and have everything we need. The food was delicious as always. Our room was lovely and comfortable. I had a massage which was also amazing. Honestly I cannot praise this hotel enough. The staff on reception are wonderful too. Definitely the place to stay in Exeter. We will be back as soon as we have booked the babysitter again and I cannot wait.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Groovygem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you so much for your glowing review - we are all delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.
You feedback has been shared with the team especially Benji & Christine.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hoteldu Vin Exeter soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews