We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,316 results
Traveller rating
844
939
348
128
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
939
348
128
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room jacuzzi and sauna leisure facilities car park city centre lovely hotel per day good size walk in shower kippers reception staff nespresso machine on site parking location is excellent third floor few minutes walk standard room
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,316 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

This is a good standard Accor hotel in a great location. Very central to the High Street and Cathedral and other key places. Good off-street parking available, which is a bonus in the city (there is an extra fee for this which is quite usual with hotels in busy towns). Check-in was quick and friendly; room was a good size and clean. All meals (breakfast and dinner) we had were good quality with friendly service. The only minor niggle we had was the Accor standard of towels used. We have stayed in other Accor hotels on our trip and the towels are very small and a lower grade quality and certainly passed their use by date. We feel this brings the overall standard of the hotel down. You can be ‘eco’ friendly and supply a good standard of towels. We would certainly stay at this hotel again, mainly because of the location.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kazzb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kazzb2016
Thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel - particularly about the quality of service and breakfast.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a coach tour. Comfy bed, lovely updated bathroom. Hair dryer, iron and bar fridge were appreciated. Close walking proximity to cathedral and shopping district. Great breakfast with made to order eggs available. All in all the best hotel on the tour.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
Thank SuzyQOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SuzyQ
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay and loved both the breakfast and the quality of the bedroom.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to England.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We had a three night stay at the Southgate hotel whilst we visited relatives.

Check in was really easy and we was in our room in no time at all.

The room was well presented and really clean and comfortable. I have to mention the shower - really spacious with a good flow of water out of one of two shower heads.

We had opted for breakfast and we was glad we did, the food was plentiful and of good quality. My only bit of constructive feedback about the breakfast set up was it would have been better to have had a choice of jams and marmalades in pots as opposed to a dollop of marmalade on a side plate.

The location of this hotel is great, you are within a few minutes walk to the town centre. You are within about a ten minute walk from the quayside by the river.

Although the hotel has a car park you have to pay to park there even if your a resident. I did find this a little off putting, why? If this was a budget hotel then yes absolutely charge for parking! Admittedly you pay a reduced rate but it's still £12 over 24hrs. Our car was never in the car park during the day as we went out for the day in the car we only parked over night so £12 for overnight parking on the hotels car park seems excessive.

Other than the parking charges we enjoyed our stay at the Southgate Hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank richardsR5672JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Richard S

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed the quality of the shower and the food.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton

GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This Hotel is amazing, super rooms, fab pool, sauna etc, stayed here for two nights recently for my friends wedding and it was lovely, only two things I didn't think were great was ; 1) Having to pay £12 per night for parking !!!!! after paying £230 to stay is unreasonable especially when you discover your car has been hit !
2) No coffee available downstairs after 10.30am !!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Carol B

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your visit and found the Hotel to be amazing.

We try to be open and honest about our car parking charges at the Hotel - with spaces limited in the city centre, We do try to ensure our prices are comparable to other car parks and highlight the price on all websites. I am concerned that you have said that your car was hit - we do have CCTV in the car park, so please contact us if you require an investigation to be completed.

Kind regards

Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

I stayed here for a business conference! The room was very good and the facilities and parking were of a very good standard as well.

However the food served at dinner was very poor! The soup was not very tasty! The chicken was dry and tasteless and the potatoes disgusting! The desert was very poor!
I would not recommend!

A, hoping we chose a different venue next year!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig F, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Helen A

Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your evening meal - particularly as the chicken had been marinated overnight and had been cooked in a moist environment. I will discuss this with the Head Chef as clearly this is not the normal standard that we provide, nor aim for.

I understand that we have received positive feedback from the organisers about the function, however hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews