We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
79
37
19
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
37
19
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean and nigel steep hill dining room and lounge town centre cooked to your liking freshly cooked breakfast road noise bath shower four poster bed bus stop ten minute walk full english feel very welcome comfortable room stayed one night easy parking lovely breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Excellent B & B. Clean and comfortable room with bath/shower and good refreshment tray plus a fridge in the room which would be very useful if staying more than a night. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.Steep walk into Dartmouth, took us about 15 minutes. We cheated coming back and used the bus! Great to have on site parking.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We stayed here for one night on our Devon and Cornwall roadtrip on 10th June 2018. We had a very warm welcome and our room was lovely overlooking the very well tended front garden. The room was very comfortable and a good breakfast cooked to order the following morning. There is parking too, Despite it being at the top of a hill it was well worth it and the walk into Dartmouth itself was lovely. I would certainly recommend this lovely B&B and would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank thewebbies252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Stayed here for the Dart Music Festival and brought the dog too. Jean and Nigel couldn't be more helpful and made us very welcome, felt like home from home. Nice comfortable rooms, well kept and no shortage on the breakfast front. Easy to get down to the town and back with a half hourly bus service running close by, last bus back from town 11.30 pm Monday to Friday, 7 pm on Sundays. Would definitely visit again we had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We spent just one night here - chosen specifically as it has parking. The steep 15- 20 minute walk to and from the harbour is a good way of getting up an appetite for meals! The buses run every thirty minutes. The whole farmhouse is very clean and there's a great, spacious guest lounge area. Delicious breakfast, too.

Room Tip: Room 6 looks out onto a quiet yard
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Professeurdefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanandnigel2016, Owner at Townstal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Many thanks for your kind remarks

Yes we have an excellent bus service if required

Although the town and water front is only s 10 min walk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

What a great place to stay. Lovely owners and staff, great rooms and a yummy breakfast so what more could you ask for. Also handy having parking. On a steep hill and I would say either get the bus or a taxi coming back up as it nearly killed us walking it. Very grateful for the odd benches dotted along the way. Perfect base to look around different areas and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews