We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn’t bother!”
Review of Clovelly Village

Clovelly Village
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Clovelly
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Clovelly, North Devon. World famous for our cobbled, traffic-free street, donkeys, sledges and historic harbour. The stunning views, peaceful tranquility and cobbled, traffic-free, high street of this world famous fishing village, built into a cleft in a 400' high cliff, tumbles its way down past whitewashed cottages festooned with flowers to the tiny working port. It is famous for its donkeys, which traditionally carry goods up the hill; sledges bring things down. There are links with Charles Kingsley, Turner, Dickens and the Spanish Armada.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I agree with the many comments here that paying to visit a village- yes I know the rip off entrance fee includes museums and gardens !- is outrageous. I live near the Chatsworth Estate in Derbyshire which is free for all to enjoy. There is a charge for the house obviously but it isn’t obligatory like at Clovelly. The estate makes its money from the pubs and lovely local food outlets not tacky souvenir shops. Don’t bother with the lazy PR statement. Thanks.

Date of experience: April 2018
5  Thank Epmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018



Dear Visitor,
Thank you for your comment.
Given that you "Didn't bother"and did not actually visit the village your opinion is open to doubt.
Clovelly is a privately owned village and there has been a charge here since 1924. As one of Devons major tourist destinations Clovelly has been welcoming visitors for generations, and we are happy to report that our surveys indicate the overwhelming majority of our visitors think our admission charges offer very good value for money.

As well as entry to the village and car parking, the fee that you pay at our Visitor Centre covers admission to Clovelly Court Gardens, the AV Film and two museums; Fisherman's Cottage and Kingsley Museum situated half way down the famous cobbled street. A significant part of our admission fee contributes to the maintenance of the village, playing a vital role in ensuring Clovelly retains its unique charm and character.

Visitors here can discover fascinating history, wonderful walks, traditional crafts, the famous Clovelly donkeys and many of Clovelly’s treasures are hidden down the tiny side streets and alleys, so we encourage our visitors to explore.

We also recommend that visitors take a look at the FAQs page on our website, which details many of the fascinating facts about Clovelly, it provides helpful information to assist planning your time here and making the most of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"land rover"
in 313 reviews
"cobbled street"
in 86 reviews
"red lion"
in 105 reviews
"pretty village"
in 68 reviews
"steep walk"
in 90 reviews
"the pub"
in 128 reviews
"landrover service"
in 42 reviews
"wear sensible shoes"
in 31 reviews
"fisherman's cottage"
in 50 reviews
"harbour wall"
in 38 reviews
"donkey rides"
in 38 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 33 reviews
"the cottages"
in 50 reviews
"small fee"
in 31 reviews
"charles kingsley"
in 29 reviews
"step back in time"
in 47 reviews
"take your time"
in 33 reviews
Filter

283 - 287 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Paid the £7.50 entrance fee then started the 1/2 mile climb down to the beach. The cobbles make the walk quite painful but there are plenty of interesting things to see that take your mind off your feet. A step into history. The waterfall on the beach is spectacular but again quite an arduous trek over the cobbled beach. The entrance ticket included a voucher for “buy one meal get one half price” at the New Inn, but when you read it carefully it’s only from the specials board, which by the time we got there (12:45pm) they only had a choice of 3 dishes left (sausage & Yorkshire pudding, or faggots and chips and another) My highlight was the pottery centre. Having a go at making a pot on a pottery wheel was a dream come true. And only cost £4 including the pot to take home! All things considered we enjoyed the experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018




Dear Visitor,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review .
We are delighted you enjoyed yourself in spite of your feet!There is lots of water running down from higher up in the wood so the waterfall is indeed SPECTACULAR!You did not mention that you visited the Clovelly Court gardens which is stunning this time of year and also easier on the feet.
We hope you will come back and visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

As a family of four it cost us nearly £19.00 to walk down the steep streets of Clovelly which I feel is quite expensive as there are plenty of quaint towns and villages you can walk through for free and if you can't face the walk back up you have to pay for a land-rover ride. It was amusing watching people huffing and puffing there way back up I had to carry my son up on my shoulders, he'd ran down but couldn't run back up. There's various cottages set up as museums and there is the author Charles Kingsley which was interesting. It is like stepping back in time and the fisherman's house with old pictures of Clovelly and various weddings was good. Plenty of parking and I managed to park our motorhome no problem. It's not somewhere I would return to. I wouldn't say it's very pushchair or wheelchair friendly and it's hard going walking back up if you're an unfit salad dodger

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank anthonym721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018




Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your comments and review of Clovelly village.
As well as entry to the village and car parking, the fee that you pay at our Visitor Center covers admission to Clovelly Court Gardens, the AV Film and two museums; Fisherman's Cottage and Kingsley Museum situated half way down the famous cobbled street.

The majority of our visitors think our admission charges offer very good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My partner and I visited over the Easter weekend. While it is undoubtedly a unique, preserved village with some stunning views, it could have been so much better.

First, let me say that I have no quibble with paying the £7.50 per person entry fee. Keeping places like this in good order costs money and the entrance fee is not out of line with what you would pay at, for example, a National Trust property. Before the PR lady replies with the standard reply, I did look at the website and knew what the entrance ticket covered.

Next, the positives. It is undoubtedly a charming place with a rich history. The views too are stunning. The lady on the reception desk was very pleasant and I heard her enthrall a young girl ahead of in the queue with some tips about the Easter chick hunt. It was also not crowded, probably because it was an overcast day. I imagine that it could get crowded on a sunny summer day, which could diminish the experience.

I'm sorry to say, however, that there are significant negatives about the place which could be turned around by the owners/managers with a bit of TLC and investment.

The whole entrance to the place leaves a lot to be desired. From signage lying on ground, to a rusty, disused petrol pump, the initial impressions are not positive and the "tourist tat" shop does little to help.

Then you move into the visitor centre itself. The entrance is drab and in serious need of a makeover; and then you are immediately faced with the cash desk to pay the entrance fee. As I have said, I don't object to the fee but the location of the desk makes you feel like the prime objective is to lift money off the visitor. Why not rearrange the layout so that there are shops and a cafe first and then a payment desk before going down to the village. It would create a much better ambience.

The whole visitor centre is reminiscent of a motorway service station in the 1980s. It needs a serious makeover. We did not feel any inclination to linger, and therefore did not stop to try the cafe.

The shops in the centre are naff. Cheap (in quality, not price) and nasty tourist tat. Surely this could be a showcase for local artisan and artistic produce? There is no atmosphere to linger and little to induce you to spend money.

The village itself is perfectly picturesque. There are a couple of nice shops on the way down. A disappointment at the foot is the hotel/bar. It was not a busy day when we visited but there was no space inside or outside the Red Lion, and the menu looked greatly over-priced for average pub grub.

We opted for a pasty from a little shop adjacent, and wished we had not. A distinctly below average, mass produced pasty. I've had better from Greggs.

In summary, this is a stunning unique location. It could, however, be so much more.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018


Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your opinion and suggestions.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the village and thought it was "perfectly picturesque".You did not mention, however whether you went to the Clovelly court gardens which is absolutely lovely at this time of year.
As well as the village there are also some wonderful walks along the Hobby Drive and to Mouth Mill which feature breathtaking cliff top views.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Loved this place, the staff in the visitor centre were lovely, the tea rooms in the middle of the village were lovely we stopped to catch our breath and refuel their cakes were gorgeous

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Suzannejayne1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018



Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your positive review!
So happy to hear you loved Clovelly.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clovelly Village also viewed

Bideford, Torridge
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to Clovelly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing