We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Staying at Camelot castle was like entering a 3D picture with portals to ancient times.
We got what we didn’t see coming: a room with a view on the labyrinth, Tintagel at our feet. An experience we won’t forget soon.

Room Tip: we stayed at 117, wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yokomoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed here after looking it up on the internet
The photos made it look stunning However in reality it is very different

First the plus
The location is brilliant, we could not have stayed anywhere with a better view of the ocean.
The dining room where we had our evening meal together with the other rooms on the ground floor were very nice.
Our evening meal was amazing, it was one of the best I have had in ages.
Breakfast would have been better if it was hotter, it was barely luke warm .

The Downside
On our arrival we were informed by the receptionist that the owner had given us a free upgrade to a room with a four poster bed in it
however on checking the bill when we got home we have discovered it wasn't free, we have been charged the going rate for the room.
The four poster bed was the only really nice thing in the room and it was very comfy.
There was a mismatch of furniture in there and the en-suite was made of plastic and looked like it had been taken out of a caravan. The carpet had no underlay under it and the general state of the décor was quite poor.

Room Tip: go for the basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carpetman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed with the stunning views, the interior decor was sumptuous, the food was perfect, and our waiter, ruldolph, was excellent. Prices very reasonable, great experience

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank sproutellie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Booked this hotel for a two night stay to celebrate my partners 50th birthday. The write up and photos on the Camelot Castle website make the place look grand and a fantastic, romantic getaway. However, we did not stay for the 2nd night and the weekend was ruined by the sheer disappointment of this hotel.

The ground floor is ok. However the bedrooms are something else. There is no ensuite bathroom but an add-on within the room which can only be described as something you'd find in a caravan. For the money they are charging for room only, this is an absolute disgrace. We asked to see another room but that was not much better.

Breakfast was ok but buffet style and no choices. Decent hotels and B&Bs (who charge much lower rates) will give you a choice of cooked breakfast.

The artwork....well I know it's personal taste....but this was a form of entertainment for us. Looked like the local primary school had attacked one with some butterfly stickers. Our suggestion would be for Ted to get a bigger paintbrush and start to help renovate the bedrooms.
We will remember this hotel for years to come but not for the right reasons.

Far nicer and cheaper places to stay in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
21  Thank clairemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We called in to the Camelot Castle Hotel for coffee and cake. Advertised as the best coffee in Cornwall the three members of the group who had coffee all agreed it was. We accompanied the drinks with delicious cake. The views are out of this world across the ruins of Tintagel Castle and the dramatic views of the sea and coast. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDVM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.5 km away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
283 reviews
36.7 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.9 km away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
37 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
33.9 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range: €93 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing