We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
367
75
24
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
75
24
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews idle rocks attention to detail tasting menu waves lapping high tide a hot water bottle oysters main course beautiful hotel great room head chef overlooking the harbour the general manager nespresso machine lamb dining room birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time. Thank you to all the friendly staff who helped make our stay relaxing. The hotel lounge is beautifully furnished and welcoming. Our room was well designed and made to feel very homely and luxurious. The views are stunning. The food is amazing and chef's tasting menu is highly recommended, especially with the wine flute. We are not connoisseurs but in our opinion, there were at least two dishes on the menu that deserve a Michelin star recognition.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tr1mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We booked this hotel for a couple of nights for an anniversary treat. We had a gorgeous room with a beautiful view of the harbour and were pleased that it was dog friendly (note that you can't bring dogs anywhere in the hotel apart from the dog friendly rooms). The food is absolutely outstanding. However we felt it was let down by the service. The owners were entertaining a large party who arrived as we went to our table for dinner after a drink in an empty lounge. Apart from them it was ourselves and another couple in the restaurant. Service was professional and efficient but I wouldn't describe it as warm and the staff seemed rather preoccupied with keeping the owners happy. We didn't have to wait long for our food but the whole experience was a little soulless, so much so that we cancelled our reservation for the following night and went somewhere a bit friendlier and informal instead. Service at breakfast on the second morning also seemed very slow and guests were going up to the bar counter to order to move things along. It was only towards the end of our stay that my partner told me she had mentioned our anniversary when booking the room and that the general manager had replied saying it was noted and they would make sure we had a good stay. We're pretty laid back and weren't looking for free champagne or lots of fuss but a simple acknowledgement or enquiry about how we were enjoying our stay might have been nice. At checkout I was asked if everything had been Ok and I said 'yes, OK' and they called the general manager who asked me for feedback which I gave, as per this review. He was apologetic and also said that perhaps the fact it was towards the end of the season had been a factor. So good that they are picking up on customer feedback but at the end of the day a hotel of this quality isn't charging end of the season prices.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent food all made on the premises including the bread served with perfectly softened butter! Great attention to detail and enthusiasm from the staff even though it was a quiet Sunday night. Teriyaki pollock and Cote de boeuf both very good. Dessert cocktails a great way to finish off! Baked Alaska pictured.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 25Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Your comments are delightful- thank you so much. Please come and visit us again when you are able, and you will be most welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived to a friendly relaxed atmosphere... and that continued throughout our stay.
We invited family over to accompany us dining in the restaurant which was both delicious and exquisitely presented !
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff ... we will definitely rebook next year !

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank India L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

I am always so grateful and appreciative of the many guests that visit us time and time again. It is so pleasing to hear that you will consider a future visit; we all look forward to welcoming you back. with best wishes, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the Uk and worldwide- this is without doubt one of the best if you like great service- great food- being by the sea.

Just wish it were 5 hours closer to us and we would be there every weekend!

Room tip: sea views are great
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BerkshireRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Its an absolute delight to read that you place us amongst the elite hotels in the UK. Comments like this make the team and I feel very proud. We'll be here when you need us the next time you are looking for that escape! With my very best wishes, Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews