We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best real bakery ever.. Proper bakery”
Review of Ferrell S H & Son

Ferrell S H & Son
Ranked #4 of 6 Dessert in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Best real bakery ever. Pasties epic, but cakes and bread and butter pudding authentic, good value and real. Proper bakery at very inexpensive prices

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank justin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

On a Bank Holiday long weekend break in St Ives we happened upon this small, unassuming shop in the heart of the harbour shopping area.

Feeling hungry, and needing a substantial lunch I decided to try their large Cornish Pasty.

Large didn't really describe the pasty. It was huge. The largest I have ever seen. A meal in itself.

If anyone is visiting St Ives & is in need of a substantial lunch I would recommend you give the S.H Ferrell & Son large pasty a try. You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Charvelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

The best pasties by far in St Ives and probably Cornwall. Delicious, peppery with the right balance of vegetables.
For the first time ever I was defeated by the large Cornish Pasty and only just managed a medium.. If you try one pasty in Cornwall make sure it is one of Ferrell's. Incidentally their saffron buns take some beating.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Ferrells is my first choice for pasties and the selection of cakes/crumbles etc is also excellent. We have been visiting Southwest Cornwall for over 3 decades and Ferrells has been on this site for as long as we remember - and remains the best. Service is great - almost always the same friendly woman. Strongly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Visited this bakery several times through the week, most cakes etc of very high standard, lost a point due to a soggy bottom on a pork pie. Lovely lady serving

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank chillseekers044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferrell S H & Son also viewed

 

Been to Ferrell S H & Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing