We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”
Review of Pels

Pels
Ranked #30 of 163 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Takeout
Description: St. Ives seafront sit in and take away cafe. Small licensed cafe specialising in home cooked food. Gluten free range of food. Well behaved dogs allowed.
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

I have been here last year and again twice this week. Lovely staff and the salads are to die for crab especially delicious........... i am a very fussy eater but absolutely love this place.... with all the corniah pasties n fish n chip shops around st ives they have a tough market but have exactly the right idea. Very popular place too u deserve it. Wish we had something like it at home.... Love it cant wait to eat here next year xx

3  Thank gazburton41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018

We visited for breakfast and were very impressed. Crepes were very good, they were all served separately with a little wait in between as there was only one crepe machine, however this was not a problem for us. Good amount of toppings and tasted great!
Very impressed with the number of gluten free options too, with all gluten free items on the counter colour coded with a green label, and a separate green gluten free menu, making it very clear and easy. Gluten free crepe was great!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Georgia97532468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Owner at Pels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your great review - so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Pels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

we went in here and it was lovely, we got 3 meals and I ordered the pancakes they were cooked fresh and were delicious, the other meals were good also. will go back next time we are in town

5  Thank Fidelma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Owner at Pels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Wow! Thank you - so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Pels and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

As the title says the food was lovely, service was great and in a beautiful setting overlooking the harbour near the sloop. Great for a nice mid afternoon snack. Although the large size of the crepes make this a must stop! No issues at all and well priced.

4  Thank venkmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Owner at Pels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your review - very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Aim was to grab a quick late lunch however due to vast menu not to mention cake and crepe selection ended up staying much longer than planned. Being gluten free, i have found good pizzas are hard to come by however the choice at Pels was brilliant and the taste matched. The Crayfish and crab sandwiches were also good and the crepes and carrot cake up with the best we've had in ages. Good value as well.

5  Thank Tahawk93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Owner at Pels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you! We have worked hard to create a strong GF selection, which is high in quality. All our cakes ( and indeed pretty much everything else) is made here on site by us. Glad you had a great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pels also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Pels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing