We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing and lovely 4 days in Carbis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing and lovely 4 days in Carbis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel is situated in a stunning location in Carbis Bay near St. Ives. The sandy beach is wonderful as is the view from the hotel. There was a lot of kids of all ages and the mild climate is ideal for them. The town is in a walking distance, although I would not opt for the walk at night. The hotel has a very nice glass porch, or a summer garden. The restaurant is very good, to be honest it was a bit of a gurmain orgy during my stay. The place is also a great location for weddings, although not for a numerous company. The room was very cosy, fully equipped, traditional design. Service could be better. There is a lovely swimming pool.The weather was really at its best and the surroundings are ideal for walks. I didnt have a car, so it is not so simple to get around but it is still possible. Although be ware that there was no bus from Newquay to St. Ives, so I had to take an expensive taxi from the airport. You can go to Penzance and St. Ives by bus. St. Ives is a lovely town as is Penzance. Cornwall is a beautiful relaxing place with stunning views, fresh clean air, although the sea is too cold for most people. I would definitely go back to this hotel, it is an ideal spot for a celebration of a wedding anniversary, or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EvaPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    345
    172
    78
    48
See reviews for
275
749
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We just had lunch here, but got married here in 2009. The events organiser, Victoria, is amazing. She is so good at her job and we had an amazing day.
The hotel setting is out of this world & I was amazed at the additional extension. It is beautiful.
I haven't seen the rooms since 2009, when they were in need of updating, but if the downstairs redecoration is anything to go by then I'm sure they're lovely!
Food is good but could be better. There is room for improvement to get it to standards of Alfreso or other restaurants in St Ives.
If you are looking to get married in Cornwall then do check out this hotel. It is stunning & intimate & the wedding food was amazing.

Best of luck to Stephen & Victoria. They're doing a fabulous job!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x_lizbet_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed in one of the new cottages and had breakfast and evening meal in the hotel. Our accommodation was spotlessly clean, comfortable, modern and well designed. The food in the hotel is excellent and the hotel staff couldn't be better. Four days went all too quickly. Thank you to all the staff who made this a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The cottages are comfortable and provide spacious accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wiglet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We loved our 4-day stay at the Carbis Bay Hotel. Arriving by train from London, you have to be careful that only every other train stops at the tiny platform of Carbis Bay Station - but stay on the train and go onto St Ives, it comes back to Carbis Bay in ten minutes or so. And this branch line from St Erth to St Ives is one of the most scenic in the \UK, skirting the coast and overlooking the sea. It is a short but steep walk then down to the hotel. The hotel itself stands out as the major feature of the bay - and it looks beautiful especially when the sea is blue and the sun is shining. The check-in was efficient and our cases were taken to the room - full marks. Our room has a side sea view. We were not greatly fortunate as the room was rather small and very hot and cramped. Having to sleep with the window open while there was minus tempertaures outside is not environmentally sensible. Some of the rooms looked much more spacious. That was our only quibble. Otherwise, breakfasts were good, with a nice choice of hot cooked food including smoked haddock. The evening meals were exceptional with several star dishes. The Falmouth mussels cooked in cider were spectacular - so much so we now have the chef's recipe for it. Service in the restaurant was friendly, if on occasions a little haphazard. But everyone sought to please - it maybe just needs a little closer management. Do seek out the owner, Stephen Baker - he is a mine of history and has collected lots of old photographs and items of the past, many hung on the passage walls. He has the paintings of the wrecks of the Cintra, Bessie and Vulture in 1893 on Carbis Bay beach and will relate how the people of the bay helped to winch many to safety - but many also died. Fascinating stuff if you like history and the spectacular panorama of the north Cornwall coast. It really makes a difference staying in a privately-run hotel which tries really hard.

Room Tip: Side sea-view rooms are cramped - front rooms look much roomier and have super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sox299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Two wonderful days in a hotel apartment. It was really fantastic to find somewhere so beautiful and well presented that accomodates dogs. The beach was spectacular, clean and great for walking even on the coldest of days. The atmosphere in the hotel in the evening was superb. Friendly staff, fantastic food, followed by coffee in the conservatory overlooking a moonlit beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.4 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.5 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#3 of 22 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 22 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.3 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 22 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.3 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#4 of 22 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate

Property: Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Address: Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate offers a stunning coastal retreat with direct access to its privately owned 25 acre Blue Flag beach and breath-taking views of one of the world's most beautiful bays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carbis Bay
Carbis Bay Hotel St Ives
Carbis Bay St Ives
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing