We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot with good food”
Review of Balnoon Inn

Balnoon Inn
Ranked #28 of 163 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Great food served at the Balnoon Inn. All is from local produce and freshly cooked to order. We offer a varied menu that has a modern take of traditional British cuisine. We are happy to cater for vegetarians and any dietary needs. Please inform the staff when booking or upon arrival. Please note that any reviews prior to May 2018 occurred before we took ownership.
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Visited with family at end of vacation. Liam was very accommodating and pleasant and we had a great visit. Good and atmosphere was good!

1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam J, Owner at Balnoon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

I'm flattered! Lissa and I are lucky to have such a great staff team.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We visited this place 3 times in one week.The staff were all so lovely.It's a great dog friendly restaurant too.Set on a country road , it really is worth a visit.The food was beautiful.Nothing was too much trouble.

3  Thank ladylisalee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam J, Owner at Balnoon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Oh wow - thank you so much!

It was great to meet the five of you. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Very good hosts at Balnoon lnn just taken over premises, clean tidy room,fresh towels daily. Breakfast very good also had meal in the evening at the pub very good worth a stay by anyone. Stayed for three nights.

Thank KITWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam J, Owner at Balnoon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you K&S.

It was a delight to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

The Balnoon Inn has had a chequered past when it comes to TripAdvisor reviews, and around three years ago we had a disappointing meal with lacklustre service there. But that's history. Our latest experience clearly shows that the new management has knocked that on the head, and our party of four's weekend lunchtime experience means that we'll be returning. Now it's up to the Balnoon team to maintain their high standards.
Our party received a warm welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. These people clearly know how to do things.
One of the party asked for a vegan meal, but was told the kitchen would have to be asked if there was any vegan cheese. In the event, there wasn't, so the gentleman suggested another meal. The diner was delighted with it, and the rest of us were also well-satisfied with our varied fare.
They keep a good pint of ale, too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam J, Owner at Balnoon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you, this means so much to us. I can't express how much we appreciate such a glowing review.
I hope that we continue to impress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Me and my husband visited here Saturday night, we were told there will be a wait as a large group had not long came in, we were ok with that, as we didn’t mind having a few drinks before, the manager and some of the staff kept coming around and apologising for the wait.
When the food came we were not disappointed, as it was so tasty and flavoursome, and served fresh, my husband had the beer battered haddock and I had the lamb and mint burger with sweet potato fries, compliments to the chef.
If we lived in Cornwall we probably would of made this our regular place to eat or even to have a few drinks as we enjoyed the atmosphere and food and lovely staff.
Excellent value for money too.

1  Thank Lolly5770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam J, Owner at Balnoon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for being so kind and understanding. All of food is cooked to order, which sometimes causes delays.
I'll be sure that the kitchen team read this and know how appreciated they are.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balnoon Inn also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Balnoon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing