We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
14
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
3
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This B&B is well situated to allow you to explore this beautiful village. Ed provided us with a map hand drawn by his wife that allowed us to wander the village. Our room was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Off street parking is available and wifi works well. Breakfast was great with home made bread. The only downside was our room had no shower, only a bath. We found getting into the bath without any safety handles a bit hard. All in all a great stay and would certainly return

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stay only 1 night, no other nights were available but so glad we did, what a beautiful place. Very friendly hosts. Our room had a sea view, and the most amazing shower I have ever used, the water pressure was perfect. Homemade bread for breakfast, lots of choice. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croxholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Penrose B&B for 2 nights as we had arranged to meet with friends. As previous reviewers have said Ed and Sian were very welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble (if we needed anything please just ask!). Our room was large and comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. The en-suite was fine, though ithere was no shower, just a bath and there was no shower attachment so a jug was provided for hair washing. Parking was right outside on the drive. Breakfast was excellent and we were so full we didn't need lunch, just a snack to see us through to the evening. Allin all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others looking for accommodation in this area.

Room tip: If you prefer to shower then perhaps need to request this when booking.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Ed and Sean graciously invited us into their B&B even though we had no reservation. We could not have asked for a better location in Port Isaac. Located above the port on the new road through the village we could easily walk down to the port in more that one direction. Parking was available in front of the house and a convenience store with an free ATM was close by. A copy of a useful and artistic map (we assume that it was drawn by Sean who is an artist) was found in our room showing the key shooting locations for the Doc Martin TV series and other landmarks.

Our room was cozy and neat and we slept very well. Breakfast was wonderful. We enjoyed Ed's video of dolphins shot from his fishing boat during breakfast. Sean's (and other family members) interesting art work were displayed throughout the house. And Griff, the little dog entertained us when he was invited in.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Penrose and highly recommend it to others.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frmseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Penrose bed and breakfast, from the 31st of october 2012, for 3 nights for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We were welcomed straight away by Ed and Sean and little Griff, we were treated to fresh milk and shown to our room which was perfect, large and clean with a bathroom, we slept soundly in luxury. The Full English that was served for breakfast was fantastic. They were very informative about the area and about the best places to visit while there. We felt very welcomed and at ease when staying with them, and would recommend staying here when visiting Port Isaac.

thank you Ed and Sean for a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews