We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Nelsons Restaurant

Nelsons Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Polpero is a very nice small town and we stumbled across this restaurant. It has only a few covers, perhaps 20/30, and has a nice atmosphere. The menu is a good mix of meat, fish and feathers, as they call it, and there is a varied wine list, both being of reasonable value. Liquor coffees were also available. The food and wine was very good and we enjoyed the experience. Would certainly return if we are in the area again.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lar1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

During a short break to Cornwall we had a walk round Polperro, we found this restaurant, the menu looked spot on.
I booked a table for 7 people and it was brilliant from start to finish. The starters were lovely, I would recommend the crab bisque every time, the fillet steaks were cooked perfect as was my whole lobster. There was a great selection of wine and champagne. The service was 1st class and the chef is outstanding.
THANK YOU FOR A GREAT EVENING

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank stevelS4561WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We had our 1st Wedding Anniversary meal here, so wanted somewhere special & we were not disappointed.

We booked & my wife had checked that they catered for Vegetarians & they actually have a separate Vegetarian menu which she loved. She really would recommend the Vegetable Crepes in Cheese Mornay Sauce & they had even made a note & remembered that she does not eat mushrooms which she mentioned when she had booked.

I had the grilled fish of the day & the fillet of Hake was cooked to perfection & a really substantial size.

All the food is made fresh & the waiting staff also dress the desserts which are outstanding.

There is such a friendly atmosphere in the restaurant we found ourselves chatting away to a large family on the table near by.

It is apparent, the staff take such a pride in the quality of the food they serve & they do it with such a smile.

We wanted a special meal & we got more than that.
Thank you very much to Nelson's Restaurant, we will come back.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scuba_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Late one evening we came across the Nelson, it was too late to order a meal, however we were offered, soup, bread, coffee and a sweet as the oven was turned off. We accept The sweet was meringue, cream, ice cream, topped with another meringue, topped with raspberry coulis and fresh raspberries. All this in luxurious setting in a French boudoir setting of red velvet and soft lighting. Fabulous place to eat, we subsequently booked another evening and had a fantastic evening.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Took the oldies on this visit. As we have visited before we were keen to show it off. Gluten free requirement was no problem. It is all cooked to perfection and we really love the bread basket (not seen very often now). Thanks proprietors for making it a lovely relaxing food experience. We will be back sometime soon.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nelsons Restaurant also viewed

 
Polperro, Cornwall
 

Been to Nelsons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing