We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
556
240
71
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
240
71
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay restaurant lovely hotel steep hill groupon deal car park sea view honesty bar st michael's mount nespresso machine no lift on arrival lovely room stayed for two nights short break breakfast and dinner both mornings mounts bay
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

It was such an incredible evening - what a way to welcome in the New Year. Started New Years eve with a walk to Mousehole, returned to afternoon tea and then the party started. Good food, fun entertainment and amazing staff. Thank you all so much for such a good time. Same again next year?

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank crissy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Crissy,
Wow - thank you for your incredible review. It is always our pleasure in welcoming you to our Hotel and glad you thoroughly enjoyed our New Years Eve entertainment - it would not have been the same without you and we are all looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Good sized room with huge bathroom. Took advantage of the 2 for 1 cocktails happy hour. Very friendly staff, our Seaview room had good views to St Michaels Mount.
Good hotel with a nice vibe.
Only suitable for able bodied if you want to walk. steep hill down to the station and local restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FWLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guests, many thanks for your review and am happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A member of the team is always on hand to arrange taxis too and from the Hotel which is only a two minute taxi ride or a ten minute walk to both the main street and both the railway and bus station. We look forward to welcoming you again when next in Penzance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Reception staff helped carry bags to room on arrival (2nd Floor, no lift). Light and airy room - no view but none asked for.
Staff gave us details of where to walk dogs nearby, literally 5 minutes from hotel.
I had tried to book a parking space but none of the 'reserved spaces' were left. We were really lucky and managed to park on the road just outside the hotel, so no problem at all for us.
Breakfast was good - excellent quality produce.
We ate in the restaurant on New Years Day, food was superb although several items were not available. Service great and staff really friendly.
We enjoyed our stay and have prepaid for a long weekend in April (taking advantage of their winter discount). The hotel is very close to Marazion and the beach at Praa Sands, both of which were great for walking the dogs.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guests, many thanks for your five star review and glad you were provided with an excellent quality of service by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in April to experience more of the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

A charming hotel with a proper, good old fashioned welcome from the staff on front desk - I'm always amazed at how many hoteliers forget how to greet guests!

The hotel is situated on a steep hill and has amazing views across the bay at Penzance. There are a number of well furnished and cosy lounges to enjoy tea, coffee or something stronger and even in the winter, there is an opportunity to sit on the sheltered, heated veranda and enjoy the view.

The room I stayed in was great but I recommend going for one with a sea-view if you get the chance. Breakfast was perfect and all the staff throughout the hotel and restaurant were an absolute credit to the management and owners.

Room tip: Get a sea-view room to benefit from this fantastic location
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxWe1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review and glad you enjoyed your stay......especially the views and dining experience in our Bay restaurant. It was our pleasure to welcome you. Your compliments will be passed on and look forward to seeing your again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

This hotel needs some help, car parking up hill and not many spaces, No lift three floors, A Shower door u cant open, sea view was lovely but small window, Food was ok, MENU needs some work, Fresh veg to small And fresh fruit with cheese would be nice and some fresh nuts , The staff Were very friendly and helpful ,So a tip was given, THANKS TO ALL.

Room tip: Go for a big room with a view and book your parking ok.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Dear Guests, Happy New Year to you and thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to be able to offer our guests on site parking which is on a first come first served basis unless you have prioritised one of our allocated parking bays for the duration of your stay. There is however usually on street parking to the front of the hotel. We do have two limited mobility rooms on the ground floor of our two storey town house hotel but there is always a member of our team on hand to help with any luggage etc should it be required. Your comments have been noted re our seasonal menu and many thanks for your gratuity. We look forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews