We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great place!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I had a couple of days work in Penzance with a colleague and booked Beachfield as a panic last minute booking a few days before we went down, I have to say I wasn't expecting much, my past experience of hotels in Penzance has been nothing to write home about.
I booked by phone, which was dealt with in a friendly professional manner, good start. I needed to make an amendment the day before which I emailed across, this received the courtesy of a response confirming my alteration, and a friendly one too.
I arrived late in the evening to a really good welcome from the young man on reception; I stayed in room 3, fabulous sea view, really good size room, VERY comfortable bed and lovely bathroom complete with bathsheets of a size and quality only normally seen in 5* hotels.
If your still with me I'll just finish to say breakfast was cooked to perfection, cofffee was fresh and 'No' I don't work at the Beachfield but 'Yes' I will be back!! ;))

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumamiaHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Your kind and gracious review of The Beachfield Hotel – based on your first visit – carries a great deal of credibility and is most warmly appreciated. We, as hoteliers, as well as all the dedicated staff at the Beachfield Hotel, cannot begin to thank you enough for your thoughtfulness and support of this style small establishment. Your continued happiness and satisfaction is our primary goal, and we eagerly await your return.

From all of us at the Beachfield Hotel – a heartfelt thanks and recognition of the fact it is because of people like you, there is such satisfaction in our day to day activities..

We await your return visit with keen anticipation, and truly appreciate your support of the Beachfield Hotel – the small Hotel with a big heart.

Warmest regards,
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
37
87
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Needed a short break to Penzance and booked this place online. Everything was exactly as described and this was spot on in terms of value for money. The greeting on reception was nice and we took the stairs to our room which had a lovely sea view. Ensuite and facilities was spot on with hairdryer, tea and coffee etc. The breakfaast was the best part with a combination of cooked and continental. The only issue we had was the very small car park which someone had had blocked us in and we had a delay in finding the owners. This aside the staff were warm and friendly and the location was perfect. Would definately book here .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Many thanks for your glowing review of the Beachfield Hotel. We, the hotel management and team, aim to make our guests as comfortable as posssible and to create an environment in which they feel at home. We are all working hard to make your stay as memorable as possible and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We must apologise for your being blocked in the car park by another guest. We do our very best to avoid this issue, but it can happen very occasionally. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes

The Beachfield Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Just stayed there this week, what a great find. A warm welcome awaited us, excellent customer service nohing was to much trouble. Breakfast and evening meal were lovely and well presented. All the hotel had nice decor and was very clean. Right on the prom, great view of he sea. I would really recommend a stay here. The only fault was i wish i could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vil14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Beachfield Hotel. Myself and my team are very please to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our accommodation and service.
We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
If we can be of any assistance with a future reservation please do not hesitate to contact us.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Highly recommended. Hotel is very welcoming, staff very efficient and helpful. Food delicious and served in a lovely restaurant . Cannot fault this hotel, will definately be returning. Many thanks to the General Manager and his team. M.Price

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear guest
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and regarding your comment about my team, they work very hard to make you feel at home I very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future to the Beachfield Hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us regarding any special offers for a future booking.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Beachfield on a special deal rate for the weekend 21-24th October. It's in a fantastic location, a stones throw from the sea (literally, and the sea was throwing them back!). We arrived by train, then 2 minute taxi ride to the hotel. Made our way around the locality on foot and by bus!

The room was on the second floor, comfortable (decor and bathroom spec could have been better, but seems they are gradually renovating all rooms), spacious, quiet, with great views all around the bay. There were coffee & tea making facilities in the room which were replenished each day. The restaurant and lounge areas were very smart and cosy. Breakfast was excellent, as was dinner. It seemed at times that there was only one member of staff around, but they were always very efficient and polite.

All in all a great stay, and we shall be back.

Room Tip: Sea view room well worth it. Second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.4 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
774 reviews
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
433 reviews
5.8 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.6 km away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
312 reviews
0.7 km away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Property: Beachfield Hotel
Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing