We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Carnson House(Penzance)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
US$210
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Union Hotel(Penzance)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$127
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$17
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dock Inn(Penzance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
428
158
45
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
158
45
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquirky hotelsister hotelchapel streetlocal artistshomemade granolaadmiral benbow pubgreat decorroll top baththe barnbreakfast includedpubs and restaurantsthe pubone night staylovely roomfantastic stayshower roomscilly isles
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

They had no single bed for my child - just a cot - nothing suitable for a 3 yr old. Room was small, no bath, They even forgot to clean our room one day. Food (especially breakfast) was delicious. I'd go back but they charge too much for what they are. No fridge in the rooms!!! The whole place is run by kids. Sorry, I fee bad for saying this stuff but it's true.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We stayed here for one night having previously stayed in their new Oxfordshire property.
We were kindly offered a complimentary upgrade to a larger room with nice views over the roof tops of Penzance and the garden. The room was quirky yet basic, the bathroom is very simple and could do with a refresh as the floor isn't tiled and the shower very basic. They have a mini-bar full of artisanal British products which is a nice touch and good tea/coffee facilities in the room.

Our dinner was not quite as good as we would have hoped, especially since dinner at their other property was extremely good.
I ordered prawns, they were served in a bowl of hot butter and herbs with their shells on, it made it extremely hard to peel the shells with them being so hot and slippery and they ended up being overcooked as they lay there, had they been served on a plate with the butter for dipping it would have been much more enjoyable. My husband ordered the baby pork ribs which turned out to be extremely large and chewy, not what he expected, although the flavour of the glaze was good. The butternut squash casserole was hearty and warming and a nice combination of flavours. Breakfast was good but not included.

The staff is pleasant, especially the girls who checked us in.
All in all there are a few areas for improvement and it's a bit more expensive than similar hotels in the areas, although I do recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The good - huge and v comfortable bed and and nicely designed room, location in Penzance
The not so good - Cheap bathroom fittings and instant coffee on the room tray, loud braying family meeting up at breakfast (not the hotel's fault obv...)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CamperMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights on a two-week tour of Cornwall that also included stays in Padstow and Falmouth. We really liked the Artist Residence. Highlights - funky room and hotel interior and consistently great food. Lowlights - slightly awkward hotel team (until you get to know them), unnecessarily small showers and a bit of a walk for parking. This was our first stay in Penzance and, while it has economic and historical town planning challenges, it has a real energy and up and coming feel e.g. Chapel Street, parks, gardens, Lido, restaurants, pubs ....

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

I had a one night stop over before getting the Scillonian the next morning. The location was perfect just a 3 minute down hill walk.
It's so nice to find a quality place to stay in Penzance this has been missing for many years.
The room was perfectly set up, beautiful designed and all the little touches were appreciated.
I will return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank dartmoor-pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews