We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Holiday Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Good Holiday Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I haves stayed at Watergate several times and enjoyed our stay. it is magnificently situated close to the beach. I would describe it as typical Family Hotel. If you do not like children, dogs and sand I suggest you look elsewhere! The new wing rooms are excellent, the others a bit old fashioned. Some of the adverse comments seem to be made by people expecting The Ritz! We have always found the food reasonable, certainly not Michelin Star quality but good. We hope to go again this Summer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marham18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    288
    95
    40
    28
See reviews for
363
667
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Staying here as an annual event with a group of friends is becoming a much looked forward to event ! We enjoy the Taste of the bay deals for the last few years, every one we have enjoyed fantastic food, excellent staff, excellent rooms & service...fantastic in the sunshine, spectacular in a good storm !
Never had anything less than fantastic food in the hotel, or Fifteen, or beach house.
-are there too many expletives here?-
We hope to have many happy returns.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just got back from the taste of the bay experience. Hotel rooms are clean and seem to have been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. Staff are approachable and friendly, genuinely wanting to make your stay an experience that you will remember for the right reasons. Best short break I have ever been on, if they continue to do it at the same price once the construction of the Spa is complete then you have got to try it.

Room Tip: The house room we stayed in was excellent, upgrade to an Ocean view before you go don't expect t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night, mid week in December and thought the hotel and staff were great. The bedroom and bathroom were both large and very well equipped with a stunning view from the balcony.

We ate at Fifteen and will get around to writing a separate review on that at some point (over priced even for the brand) but breakfast at the hotel was very nice. The only minor criticism would be the bar, which was a bit sterile and fact we could not have used the bar on the Friday night as it was booked out for a private function. This is the only reason we did not book two nights, had we known the bar was a bit naff we probably would have booked the two nights and sourced our entertainment elsewhere.

There was a lot of building work being undertaken whilst we were there, but did not feel disturbed once. The staff were delightful and couldn't do enough for us - would we go back, absolutely yes, which is the best compliment one can pay.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoghurtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for one night in early Feb, and although the building work on the new spa area spoils the look for now, the hotel itself is a lovely reinvention of a Victorian building into a chic modern hotel and I’m sure it’s going to be fabulous. Staff were great, and our ‘better’ room in the old building was gorgeous with a turret, fantastic views, comfy bed and good sized bathroom. The beach is fantastic – we had a stroll as the tide went out, then walked up to the headland towards Porth (not as strenuous as it looks!). We had a delicious dinner at Fifteen so didn’t eat at the hotel, but the restaurant and menu looked good. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful. Great location for a short break, we’ll be going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
4.8 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.9 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.7 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
4.4 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing