We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for Watergate & Fistral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a friendly and relaxed campsite. Nice balance of tents, mobile homes and motor homes/ campers. Facilities are clean and well maintained and the location is perfect for access to Watergate Bay or Fistral and the other Newquay beaches; all walkable. Smart shop and coffee hut as you exit which are worth a visit.

Have been many times and will definitely be back. If there's one drawback it's the lack of an onsite shop for milk/newspapers etc, but maybe I just haven't found it yet!

Suitable for families with kids of all ages. We managed to get a couple of camping spots adjacent to each other which is great if you're with all the family and looking to cook/eat together in the evenings. May go for three units next year if I can talk more of the family into it...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dean. Many thanks for taking the time to review our site. Its nice to know you found us to be in a perfect spot and we think you should get talking to the family and get 3 pitches next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Porth Beach Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

In the past eleven years we have spent our holidays 10 times at Porth Beach Holiday Park. Why? There are several reasons. Its location is perfect - the sea is just on the other side of the road - a picturesque bay with a sandy beach. Newquay with its shops is within a walking distance and you can enjoy the view during your walk along the coast. You can also easily walk to Watergate Bay along the coast.
The Holiday Park is clean, tidy, quiet and patrolled at night.
The caravan (Avonmore) we hire is spacious enough, there is ample storage space and fully fitted with central heating, a dishwasher etc. The master bedroom has its own en-suite toilet and there is a king-size bed (a must for us). You can park next to your caravan, which is also a great asset.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi. WOW Ten times in eleven years!! Brilliant to hear you have had so many good times hear and thanks for leaving such a great review. Fingers crossed you can make it eleven out of twelve next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The site was very clean and well looked after.
The showers could have been cleaner - but we are right by a beach so sand should be expected.
We had a two berth caravan and I did feel our pitch and the others were quite close to the roads. It would be better to have larger pitches.
There was not a lot of noise from other campers and the children on the site were all well behaved.
The major disadvantage of this site (and Porth) is that there is no where to buy basic provisions. We would have loved to have been able to buy bread, bacon, milk, wine (the essentials!) without having to drive into Newquay.
The tapas bar at the entrance to the caravan park is fantastic. They don't allow children, but do allow dogs. It was a really nice relaxed environment and I would recommend it too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Clair. Many thanks for leaving taking the time to leave your review. Unfortunately the main shop in Porth has closed but the coffee shop just outside our park does sell basic essentials such as bread and milk. Its worth looking to see if a larger pitch is available next time as we do have several very large pitches which would give you some more room. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at the tapas bar and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

will be returning to porth holiday park for the 5th yr in 3 days time, it offers excelent showers/toilet and pot washing, always hot water no matter what time of day you go and showers are free, have to say i have been in hotels that are not kept as cleans as the showers here. The staff can never do enough for you nothing is too much for them Its an excelent base for exploreing Cornwall. Very short walk to beach which is life gaurded( 10am- 6 pm) Excellent Family site which as night watch man for any problems you may have out of office hours which did a brillent job when i had to speak to them one yr about 2 famiys that were singing very loudly after 11pm one night, i m not ususlly one to complain but did that night as others had tried seaking to the said familys to no availle

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Cheryl. Thanks for leaving your review and its great to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us. Have a safe journey down and we look forward to seeing you again in 3 days time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Starting with the positives :
- Basically on Porth Beach which is lovely
- Clean shower and toilet block and plenty of showers - we were there over Boardmasters weekend and there were never queues for showers. Plugs in the shower block but no hairdryer
- a few option for eating out within Porth
- not overloaded with rules but efficiently ran
However.... this is not a campsite that I will recommend. The pitches are tiny and i feel everyone is on top of each other. Rows of roads in between the rows of pitches detracts from the camping experience.
Have to pay for wifi and it drops out frequently.
Showers would benefit from increased water pressure.
The cafe next to the site sells milk and eggs but all other supplies are over a mile away. The site would really benefit from a site shop.
There is nowhere for children to meet so they are riding on the roads on bikes and scooters. In that respect it is probably the worst site I have stayed on for children.
There is a very busy road to cross to get to the beach.
Porth beach doesn't allow dogs between 9am - 7pm 1 May - 1 Sept. However Whipsiddery Beach does and is lovely although has steep steps down to it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi Claire. Thanks for leaving your review. Sorry to hear you thought we were average. We have several different pitch sizes starting with small 2 man tent size pitches going up to very large pitches that are over 10 meters wide. Did you come into reception to report the problem you had with the WiFi as we could have looked into any issues for you? We will look at the water pressure in the showers but haven't had anybody else mention that this year. Its a shame you don't feel you can recommend us but we hope you return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
3.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 78 in Newquay
415 reviews
3.1 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#22 of 78 in Newquay
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Beach Holiday Park

Address: Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porth Beach Holiday Park is Newquay's premier family and couples touring site. We are situated on the beautiful north Cornish coastline just outside Newquay. The park is only 100 meters from one of the best beaches in the county. We have 18 Static Caravans and 200 Touring pitches. Also onsite you will find our award winning shower complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Porth Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Beach Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing