We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accomodation at affordable prices”
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #5 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We chose to stay at The Quies for a late November break and were not dissapointed. Having stayed in a lot of hotels around the Newquay area The Quies represents the best value for money by a mile. It offers a relaxed atmosphere great for young and old alike, it would also be a suitable destination for families. Our room was on the top floor with a sea view and balcony, for the extra few pounds it is an option i would highly reccomend, the view was great you can see over the town and out to sea. The rooms are spacious and modern, if i were to be overly picky my only gripe is that the "double bed" is actually 2 singles pushed together with a double sheet draped over the top which detracts the comfort and there is no bath in the shower room, apart from that we had an excellent room. The breakfasts are good quality and the games room is an added bonus. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, there is ample parking and drinks are available 24/7 which is a good touch. i will definately be returning to The Quies on my next trip to Newquay.

Room Tip: room 10 has a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Edgehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 464 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

Excellent hotel with changing facilities for surfers, walking distance to town beach, superb with friendly welcome, wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed a couple of nights in september 2011. More than happy. Had a balcony room with wonderful views.

Room was modern, lovely ensuite.

Only drama were the stairs and luggage. Had help with the luggage and all was good.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony .... the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The large breakfast saved us a fortune, as a pasty or cream tea was all we could manage to eat for the rest of the day. Hence, no expensive eating out. Also, activities are available, ie, pool, DVD's and games console, if the weather is a bit iffy, and you need to stay indoors.

Furthermore, found out that the Gaffer is Northern, from Chester, that might explain why this hotel is such very good value for money!

It is also reasonably situated for the town centre, but, about a 3/4 mile walk to Fistral Beach, through the town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Right-Stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Booked a couple of nights here before going on to Falmouth for a big family holiday. We were going to arrive late (1am) and so I asked if this would be a problem. I was told that it was no problem and was emailed the code for the front door and where the key would be. Arrived at 1am, used the code to open the door and got the key. There was a nice note saying that they were sorry to have missed us and also the password so that you could connect to the FREE wifi (I had expected to pay for this). On entering the room, I was pleasantly surprised by how modern, spacious and cosy it was. There was a huge modern ensuite, TV and also a DVD player. Very nice. In the morning, we went down for breakfast, which is probably one of the nicest cooked breakfasts we have had. In the evening, after dinner and a couple of drinks, we came back to the hotel but weren't ready to go to the room. There is a large area with a pool table, table football and also a retro style pac man and video games table, There was also a cooler which had beer, wine, cider etc which was at a very reasonable price. So, all in all, lovely hotel, great facilities, and very friendly staff/owners. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo_and_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.8 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,447 reviews
1 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
0.5 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: €45 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing