We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fab location, price and staff”
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #8 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very nice person meeting and greeting us, very helpful and friendly. Rooms all cleaned to very high standard. All rooms (we saw) very up to date. WiFi available. Tv's. Free soft and hot drinks all time. Free parking.
No complaints. Recommend 100%.
Thank for good time there!
Oh , and amazingly comfortable bed!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerlikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 482 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

Had a very warm welcome from Alex, the owner, who was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, as were all the staff. Room was very big and modern with a trendy bathroom and great shower. Bed was big and comfortable and room was clean and lovely to be in. Large tv in room with Freeview and great facilities downstairs including free coffee/juice, free internet, guides to restaurants, pool tables & honestybox bar. Breakfast was substantial and tasty & a variety of people were staying in the hotel; couples, elderly groups and families meaning a nice atmosphere at breakfast. The only negative was that the walls were thin (heard snoring next door and squeaky floorboards) and there was lots of noise from road outside when the window was open (room was pretty hot)- a fan would be appreciated! Would DEFINITELY return to this hotel as it was great value for money!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel- quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We spent a fabulous week in this hotel and we cannot find a single fault! Staff were so friendly and helpful especially Alexandria, even the kids were raving about her! The rooms were perfect, spotless and plenty of room. Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice, quantity and was delicious. The location of this hotel is ideal close to shops beach and pubs and restaurants. We will definitely be back and also recommending to family and friends!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliescott086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My title probably says it all.

In the last week in July (inc over the weekend), 2 blocks from the main street in Newquay, at £61per night B&B we thought even if it was not as good as the TA reviews we'd be fine.

We were really pleasantly surprised. From the email exchange to our arrival, being shown round the whole hotel and facilities - as others have said, including pool table, free use of internet, DVDs and, best of all, although we didn't use it, a help yourself "honesty" drinks fridge.

Then our room was really nice, well appointed, quality shampoo/soap/bath gel etc. Good size TV, two comfortable chairs, tea and coffee maker.

Breakfast good, plenty of it, and especially as it was being served by just one young lady, of course everyone comes about the same time, the service was good. Best of all, the last day we had to leave soon after breakfast started (at 8am) to catch what turned out to be a non-existent flight at Newquay airport, and there was someone there 10 minutes early early to cook us breakfast.

One tip. The main road - Mount Wise - can get noisy, so a room at the back would be my preference if we stayed again - which if we go to Newquay again we will aim to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Went on a trip to Newquay with my wife for 5 days and stayed at the Quies. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel itself and by it's staff. We were greeted by a friendly face on arrival and were shown around the hotel (details of the facilities available you can find in other reviews) and to our room and were amazed at how relaxed the atmosphere around the place was. The hotel is in a great location just 5 minutes walk from the main town, bars, restaurants, nightlife and the beaches (Fistral beach is well worth a look, especially if you like sunsets, just 1 mile from the hotel)

The room was finished to a very high standard and came with flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities and a huge comfy bed. Our only minor issue with the bed was that the sheets looked slightly worn and old but were clean and fresh and suitable for purpose. The bathroom was of superb quality but was perhaps slightly small.

Breakfast every morning was great (8am-9am). Full English breakfast was fab and a nice dining room. Staff running breakfast were again very friendly and accommodating. A couple of mornings there seemed to be a slight issue when the hotel was quite full with the one member of staff running the dining room obviously feeling flustered and overstretched and with some people having to wait for a table to be available. This was dealt with in the end fairly well with tables becoming available within 10 minutes and everyone receiving their breakfast with minimal fuss.

For those rainy days (of which during our holiday there were lots of!) there was a pool table, a chest of DVDs, PlayStation, Sky Movies (downstairs), and a retro game desk to entertain all ages.

All in all we were very happy with our stay! Thanks very much to all of the staff at the Quies.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.5 km away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.8 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
1.1 km away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.5 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: €44 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing