We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top cod and chips, really friendly staff and excellent service.”

The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #4 of 29 Quick Bites in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are now a fully licenced restaurant with fantastic sea views and full table service. Under new ownership from the 6th September 2018 everyone is welcome.
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We had a great takeaway from here in September when staying locally so when visiting with good friends we decided to eat in.

Really friendly service and at short notice we were served some fantastic cod and chips, all with a nice sea view. The cod was really fresh and ‘fluffy’, not oily and chewy like some places. As a Cornishman living abroad (in Plymouth), this reminded me of proper fish and chips I used to have as a kid, fresh and properly cooked.

We had three toddlers with us and they were really happy with their little meals.

Staff couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful, glad we came back for a ‘sit down’ meal and we will always make this our first port of call when having fish and chips in Newquay.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Ynwa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018

Working in Newquay 12th Feb - went to Cod End on the strength on Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Ate in the rear restaurant area, kindly sat next to the heater by the owners, and had the best cod & chips I've tried in a long time. We have two award winning fish and chip shops here in my home town of Market Deeping - neither come close to this one. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C00ps69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Fish & chips, bread and butter. Average. Went here with family who were on holidays. Good service. Didn't visit again.. Live locally.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank gillie888gillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Fantastic fish and chips. Very friendly too. Highly recommend. Had cod and chips. Large portions. Give them a try!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

I love coming here in the summer and sitting outside great service tasty chips and nice staff one of the best in cornwall

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank n0rmalpers0nqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing