We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location! Location! Location! & Absolutely First...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of Summercourt
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Aerial view of Summercourt
Double bedroom
Kitchen
Play area
Around Summercourt
Around summercourt - Information room
Around Summercourt
View from Cliff opposite ( 50 meters)
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters )
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters )
Millendreath Beach ( 300 meters)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
millie t
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wet beds, poor furnishings,uncompromising owners”
Reviewed 24 November 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

The cottage is a converted pigsty. The bedrooms were below ground. The rooms smelt damp as I descended the stairs. Two bedrooms, neither had any space, the smaller one had only room for the bed. The windows were minute and gave no view. The mattresses were wet.

Upstairs, the furniture was poor and uncomfortable, the tv was about 12" screen. The carpeting was cheap and thin. The kitchen was good.

The brochure suggested there were sea views. There were not.

Originally booked for my daughter and grandaughter, this would have been wholly unsuitable for them. Instead my elderly mother came but it was not possible to stay here with the wet beds and the damp atmosphere.

The owners said there was nothing wrong but finally changed one mattress. They did so grudgingly and in silence.

Mother and I left and had to find somewhere else to stay that night and for our week. I did not take photos. I wrote to the owners asking for a refund, I had paid £560, they refused. I would not recommend Smithy cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: The owners attitude.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2012
Firstly let us review the facts. Mrs Thomas originally booked for her, her daughter and granddaughter on the 6th May,2011. It was at this point she was aware in a telephone conversation that the small bedroom was really only suitable for a child. This was acceptable as was the layout of the cottage. A week before her arrival we were informed by telephone and then email that her daughter and granddaughter were no longer coming and that she was instead going to bring her elderly mother. We reiterated about the steps.
On arrival on the 23rd July she was concerned about the steps and requested another cottage. Being full this could not happen. She immediately complained of damp. This we disagreed as builders had finished only three weeks previous and the 2 sets of guests the 2 weeks before had not raised any issues. However on a hot summers day we turned on the heating, closed the windows, changed the mattress and bedding and even went and bought hotwater bottles.
In the meantime Mrs Thomas went out and returned 2/3 hours later , collected her belongings and drove off without a word. On the 8th August we received a latter asking why we had not refunded her money and complaining of the dampness and the condition of old furnishings which had in fact been delivered new from SofaSofa only two weeks previous.
We firmly believe her request was unreasonable and although she was aware of the difficulty of her mother and the stairs we were at fault. This we completely disagreed and this I believe has led to her malicious review which is her way of getting her own back. If she wishes to take legal proceedings we will rigorously defend our actions.
As our cottages receive on average a 25%+ return of former guests each year this in itself speaks volumes as to our commitment to our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location! Location! Location! & Absolutely First Class”
Reviewed 28 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This trip was booked at the last minute and without the friendly assistance from Mac Hocking the trip would probably not have happend, which on reflection would have been a great shame. After an 8 hour drive from Northumberland, Susan (disobediant wife! Ouch!!) and Max (well behaved German Shepherd) received a very warm and friendly welcome from Phillipa Hocking, Susan was shown around 'The Hayloft' which was to be our home for the week, whilst I exercised Max at the beautiful Bodigga Cliff National Park with direct entry onto the equally beautiful South West Coastal Footpath, this is an ideal location for walkers / ramblers and their dogs and only 20m from the cottages.
The 'Hayloft' cottage was truly immaculate, clean, tidy and well maintained.
The location is quiet, remote and in a beatiful location.
Phillipa, Mac, shops (non food); cafes pubs are ALL extremely dog friendly, they welcome you in, a revelation unlike our previous break to North Yorkshire.
10 hours to return home, a long journey, yes, we will return to these exquisite cottages and superb location in the near future. Phillipa and Mac, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location! Location! Location!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2011
Thanks for the review. really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Summercourt and the weather did not deter you too much. Glad you had a safe journey, it is a long way, and many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in July 2010
3
people found this review helpful

On the positive side Summercourt Cottages offer a quiet location, if that's what you are looking for, with a fairish play area for children. They lie in close proximity to the Coastal Path.

On the negative side we were disappointed with our stay and actually left before our week was up. The property was clean but not spotless; there were cobwebs in nearly all the cupboards, particularly where the crockery was kept. The fridge/freezer broke on the second day of our stay - it took the owner two days to come and look at it and measure up for a new one which needless to say wasn't fixed, or replaced, before we left. Ok, these things happen but there was no concern shown whatsoever for all the food that we had lost. We were made aware in advance of our stay that the electricity was metered but it appeared to be set at 4 units per pound (nearly twice what we were paying at home). The washing machine and drier seemed to eat electricity too. Having forked out nearly £10 on washing and drying one load of washing the owners informed us we should really only dry the equivalent of two towels at a time - we can dry more than that in our small drier at home! To be fair though, the owners did offer to finish drying our laundry for us.

One of the reasons we booked the cottage was because it was advertised as dog friendly. When we arrived we were informed that the dog had to be kept on the lead at all times. We wouldn't have minded so much but it did seem a trifle unfair that our dog (a docile labrador) was on the lead whilst the owners' dog wandered around freely.

Finally, access to the cottages is down some very long narrow lanes, there are limited things to do in the vicinity and it is a long drive to any of Cornwall's main attractions. Our advice, look carefully at a map before booking.

Perhaps we stayed during an 'off week', but certainly based on this particular stay and our stays at similarly rated places, this was a huge disappointment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: parking and access to the Coastal Path
Liked least: state of kitchen appliances, electricity tariff, location
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2011
It is 6 months since Mr and Mrs B stayed bu perhaps the following can explain their disappointment.
We do have a policy of dogs on leads around the premises because this ensures two things, firstly dogs do not pester guests and start other dogs barking and this then becoming a nuisance to others. Secondly that if accompanied then any ‘mishaps’ can be cleared by the owner. To roam free where children play and guests have to play dodgems is not acceptable to us. A 3 acre area at the National Trust Bodigga Cliff which is on the SW Coastal Path is less than 20 meters from the entrance. Mr/s B would have been taken there on arrival and shown the area where their dog could run around to its hearts content ( that is the area photo shown on our website).
As regards electricity meters Mr/s B have assumed the meter is on the expensive ‘A’ rate but is in fact on the ‘B’ rate. The reason for the installation of meters is that some guests used to go out leaving on immersions, electric fires and lights etc and when meters were put it dramatically reduced this waste of energy. Last year we subsidized the electric by about £40 across all the cottages. The washing machines situation is a mystery to us the only mishaps this year is where guests have put in 2 x £1 coins instead of a £2 coin.
We note the kitchen utensil rating and this season renewed some of the utensils in this and other cottages.
We are sorry Mr and Mrs B did not enjoy their holiday in Cornwall but we are in a rural area as shown on our website and in the link to Google mapping.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian444
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind and relax”
Reviewed 13 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

If you are looking for the perfect holiday cottage with the best hosts and location, its here. With stunning scenery, places to visit it makes Summercourt the ideal place to unwind and relax.
Mac and Phil are very friendly and welcoming which makes this place the reason why guests return year after year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall package
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2011
Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a safe journey home and many thanks for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita A
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful cottages in tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed 7 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Upon arival at summercourt cottages a warm welcome awaits you from phillipa.The cottages are very clean,well appointed and comfortable.facillities include laundry,playroom and outdoor play area.
The cottages are situated in beautiful countryside with lovely coastal walks nearby,quiet and peaceful and a short drive to looe.
Having visited this lovely place for the last 20 years,i would not hessitate to recommend summercourt cottages for the ideal relaxing holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean comfortable cottages
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2011
Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a safe journey home and many thanks for the review. Phil and Mac Hocking
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing