We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood dream!”
Review of Trawlers on the Quay - CLOSED

Trawlers on the Quay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Trawlers on the Quay is an intimate restaurant located on the quayside of Looe Harbour. We specialise in seafood although our menu offers a range of alternatives and is updated regularly. The perfect environment for a relaxed lunch or a romantic dinner during your stay in lovely Looe.
Reviewed 19 October 2017

A wander round the quay meant we found this restaurant and I'm so glad we did! Being a group of seafood fans this place served up exactly what we were hoping for in Looe.
We sat upstairs which gave us access to the balcony and lovely views across the estuary. the service was relaxed and informal and the stunning choice of seafood did not disappoint! The fruit de mare and extra oysters were fresh, ample in portion size and satisfied even the heartiest of seafood appetites among us.
We were not at all rushed, were able to sit and enjoy drinks while waiting for the room for dessert and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening here. A firm favourite should we return to Looe!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cspencer053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oli W, Owner at Trawlers on the Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you so much for the loverly review we our so glad to hear you enjoyed it .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Visited with friends, should not have bothered.
Poor choice menu, Sticky Table. Very bland food, slimey soft mussells, with raw onion on top a miserable bit of stale mackerel served on beetroot and pretentious staff, that thought they were doing us a favour by allowing us to eat there. As usual us British do not like to complain, if we were not with our friends we would have walked out.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We visit Trawlers regularly and love it. Fresh fish, great atmosphere, amazing views. What's not to love?

Back this weekend for more.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank MrsEdwardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

A group of 6 of us had a birthday lunch here whilst attending Looe Music Festival.
The extensive gin menu was well received by our party and we started the meal with fresh local oysters and a lovely dry white wine.
At the managers recommendation we ordered multiple small plates to share and were not disappointed, The scallops, whitebait and squid were really fresh and well cooked everything was hot and came out together. I loved the haddock scotch egg with curry sauce, sounds weird but it works!
Could have done with more staff on but our waitress coped well and got a generous tip as a result. We will definitely be back next year!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BMKelly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Should have realised before going back to have gone elsewhere!! We are here a couple of years ago and had an awful meal, went back last year just for drinks and found the staff to be rude and the place pretentious. This year we thought to give it another go as there was a wide range of fruit gin on offer. Lo and behold we definitely won't ever be returning again!!!!

We ordered 2 fruit gins and sat outside in the sun. The first round was £11.00 - no problem with that! And so we had more, again paid £12.60. We left and came back a couple of hours later to order exactly the same drinks and be charged £13.10!! When questioned the bar man called me a liar!!!!!! I unfortunately didn't have the receipt to show him but have checked my account and I was definitely charged £12.60. To overcharge me by 50p AND call me a liar is uncalled for and totally not how customers should be treated. We will never go back and have made sure anyone we know in and around Looe are aware of the experiences we have had.

Date of visit: September 2017
3  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trawlers on the Quay also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing