We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great roast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Cott

Smugglers Cott
Ranked #9 of 82 Restaurants in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great roast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Having visited last year we hoped to return and have another fantastic carvery. At first we were a little disappointed to arrive and be told that they would be serving a plated roast instead but could understand why, given that we visited out of season when everywhere is a little quieter.
However, there was a generous choice of 3 meats - you could have all if you wished and were amazed when the waitress brought over seperate dishes of roasted and new potatoes, a selection of nicely cooked vegetables and yet another with cauliflower cheese!
The meal as a whole was very well cooked, tasted beautiful and was generous, too!
Our waitresses that evening were both very pleasant and welcoming and there was a nice ambience in the restaurant - which is a fascinating place in itself.
The only disappointing thing was that we didn't have room for one of their lovely looking puds.....maybe next time!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    232
    91
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“the best place in looe for sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

the food was lovely, as always, the setting is so quaint, however we felt very rushed to eat fast, and leave. and the staff seemed somewhat stressed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, excellent carvery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Strolling through Looe Friday evening and came across this restaurant up a little side street.
Staff were very accommodating even though we had not booked ( recommended ) Carvery on a busy Friday night was excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scutty121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, best restaurant in Looe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had such a fantastic time/meal that we had to keep coming back. Great comfortable atmosphere, although watch your visiting times as it can get packed. Sunday lunch is particularly busy, but rightly so as its brilliant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Frequently visit for Sunday Lunch - It’s superb!
Choice of at least four meats with marvellous crackling on the pork!
Freshly cooked seasonal vegetables and the gravy is wonderful.
Smugglers Cott is located in the centre of Looe
It a 20 mile round trip for us and worth every mile!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllrightmeLuvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smugglers Cott also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers Cott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing