We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four perfect days at The Westcott”
Review of The Westcott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westcott
Ranked #7 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I had four days at The Westcott 26-29 March when the weather was absolutely perfect in Falmouth. The accommodation played its part in a great stay as well. Clean,comfortable, friendly and a quiet relaxed atmosphere with excellent breakfast and sea view from parts of the hotel. Nicely situated close to Gyllingvase beach with a shortish walk of about one third of a mile to the railway station and a little over a half a mile to the centre of Falmouth. Falmouth itself has a great maritime feel to it, feeling safe and relaxed however late you were out. I loved it and will be back to The Westcott. I'd recommend anybody try falmouth if you haven't already.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Westcott proved to be a great choice for our recent two night stay in Falmouth. Sally made us very welcome. Our room was clean, had a sea view etc. I can confirm all the good points already given on this page. I would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at the The Westcott for two nights on 24th / 25th March whilst visitng Falmouth for first time from West Sussex as a last minute decision to welcome a family member home into the port after a trans atlantic yacht crossing. From the outset the owners, Mark and Sally couldn't have been more helpful or obliging and both were very welcolming. Nothing seems too much trouble to them and they are a great source of local information. Travelling with a friend we had a single and a double room and both rooms were very comfortable, my single was more like a double and very reasonably priced ,spotlessly clean and had all the amenities you could ask for. Rooms were fully cleaned and replenished each day and at very short notice we took a third room on second night for my daughter to join us which was no problem at all to the owners.
The breakfast was fantastic, would compete very well if not better than many four star hotels I have stayed in throughout the world. Owners were very accomodating to our needs and even offered us a packed breakfast if we wanted one as we were getting up very early to go to the marina on Sunday morning to watch the yacht arrive . I'm glad we didn't take Sally up on her offer or we would have missed out on the fantastic full english breakfast we had when we came back in at round 9 am. Buffet also had full range of healthier options ! There were also lovely touches like fruit, sweets and a drink in the lounge and freedom to come and go at will.
The Westcott is very well positioned just 50m from beach and giving views of the sea from many of the rooms and a short ten minute walk to the marina and town which was ideal for us.
We did not have any issues with parking, the owners knew we had an early start and made sure we parked in a bay where we coudn't get boxed in .
Falmouth is full of B & B's and Guest's Houses so I guess competition is fierce for bookings and reading all the excellent guest comments posted for the Wescott and my own great stay in my view the owners are at the top of their game and will remain that way all the time they are offering the service and standards of hospitality that we recieved last weekend including very good value. I would certainly return again and recommend anyone to this guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our stay here was last minute but we were glad to have found it as it was a lovely place to stay and so close to the beach and gyllyngvase beach cafe. The room was clean, spacious and the bed very comfortable!

Breakfast was delicious and not at all greasy and views of the nearby beach could be seen which was nice to wake up to.

We would definatly recommend the westcott and look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked here last minute so wasn't sure what to expect but was more than pleasantly surprised. The rooms are modern and clean, and I had a sea view. The house was warm and welcoming and the breakfast was perfect (even for a vegetarian!).

Only downsides were lack of power shower and minimal parking, but these wouldn't stop me staying here again. For the price, this is exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 km away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
150 reviews
0.2 km away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#8 of 82 in Falmouth
199 reviews
0.2 km away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#6 of 82 in Falmouth
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bosanneth Hotel
Bosanneth Hotel
#11 of 82 in Falmouth
476 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rathgowry
The Rathgowry
#10 of 82 in Falmouth
193 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sandy Duck
The Sandy Duck
#5 of 82 in Falmouth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westcott

Address: Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: €76 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westcott 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family-run bed and breakfast offering good quality accommodation at affordable prices. Ideally situated, it overlooks the award winning, Blue Flag Gyllyngvase beach and is just a short walk away from Falmouth Centre. Less than 1 mile from Pendennis Castle a truly Fantastic location to explore Cornwall's coastline and gardens. We have single, double & twin rooms all with ensuite available. We have a luxurious kingsize room with separate seating area overlooking the beach/sea. We have an outside seating area for guests to sit and watch the sun go down over the sea in the evening. We now have Infinity Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Westcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcott Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing