We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meudon Hotel(Falmouth)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merchants Manor(Falmouth)
US$193
US$180
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
US$300
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
111
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese roomdave and gillloft roomchinese furnituremueslien suite facilitiescomfortable bedhandy locationclose to towntea and coffee making facilitiesshort walkstayed here for one nightfull englishhostsreidbreakfastslippers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Loved this place;very clean and cosy overall and the owners are so friendly. They welcomed us warmly, helped us with luggage storage which was very handy and gave us an umbrella for the rain. Well decorated and extremely comfy bed.
Handy location, just a short walk to town and beaches. Will return definitely.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank priya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Our fifth visit to this delightful Guest House just 10 minutes, downhill, from the main town.. Hosts Dave and Gill Reid are very friendly and are mines of information about Falmouth and the surrounding areas - and have lots of advice about what to do, where to go and where to eat.
As usual we booked the Chinese Room - a very spacious, spotlessly clean room, sumptuously decorated with Chinese furniture, paintings and wall hangings. The room boasts en suite facilities, a super king-size bed, tea and coffee making facilities, TV and DVD player, with a large selection of DVDs on the landing just outside the bedroom door.
The breakfasts, promptly and perfectly served by Dave negate the need for lunch. Cereals, toast and jam galore and a choice of 'mains' that includes the classic "Full English" and a delicious Bercher muesli.
Parking is on-street and generally right outside the front door!
There are two other double dooms, one with wonderful harbour views, but we always ask for the Chinese Room.
If you ever go to Falmouth or surrounds, look no further than The Guest House!

Room Tip: Only three rooms - Chinese, Harbour View and Regular - in that order!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LumberEaton_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with two friends and it was just what we were looking for, somewhere clean, tidy, comfy close to town and not overly priced. The guest house was perfect, we stayed in the loft room which had a double bed, a single and a sofa bed. The shower room was very small, however we only required somewhere to wash so having a plush bathroom wasn't a necessity, although it is something I tend to consider when I go away with my partner. The hosts seemed very friendly as well, which always makes a stay more pleasant. We only had a few issues staying here, otherwise i would have given 5 stars, the tv didn't work nor did the DVD player. The coffee machine broke the second time we used it and the water flooded out of it and went everywhere. Although, I would highly recommend staying here, if it's just somewhere to sleep for a night it's ideal, no fuss, no frills.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecornwallEngland, Owner at The Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thanks for the favourable review of The Guest House and the feedback. We checked the coffee machine after finding the coffee impregnated towel and after thoroughly rinsing the pod mechanism, we found that the machine worked perfectly. If the pod is placed in the machine incorrectly it tends to flood. We have clear instructions next to the machine. Apologies for the poor TV picture quality and thank you for drawing it to our attention. The aerial needed adjustment and the problem has now been resolved. Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The guest house is easy to locate and there is ample on street parking. Your Host, Gill, answers all and any queries and directs to local resteraunts and other places worth visiting.
The Chinese room was quite incredible, very large with a very comfortable bed, seating area. But the highlight is the Chinese furniture. Chatting with Gill later, she said they had spent time in Hong Kong and brought some beautiful cabinets, mirrors and artefacts back with them.
We skipped breakfast and made an early departure.

Room Tip: Go for the upper rooms, larger and the top floor has a sea view!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecornwallEngland, Owner at The Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thanks David for taking the time to write us a review for The Guest House. Next time try our delicious breakfast, cooked by David and he will talk you under the table! Glad you like the Chinese Room. Hope to see you again soon. Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here at the beginning of term when we delivered our student son to his digs. We were immediately made to feel welcome and comfortable by Gill who took us to our loft room where we were impressed by stunning panoramic views over the harbour. Having taken our eyes off the view we were delighted by the cosiness of our room, furnished, as a loft room should be in a simple contemporary style without pretension. Comfortable bed, compact but modern and efficient shower room. Also a slightly quirky area with futon and television. Not a hint of guest house fustiness or Cornwall dampness in this house which is perched above the town, a convenient walk away. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful and provided attention to detail in every way, we felt part of the family and chatted comfortably as Dave cooked a delicious breakfast in their beautiful kitchen. We might offer to drive our son back to uni at the beginning of next term instead of bundling him on the train, just so we can go back!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jobullock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovecornwallEngland, Owner at The Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Well you guys can definitely come again with this review. Thank you. Great to see you. Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews