We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Log burning stove.
View of river Dee looking towards Chester  from downstairs.
Downstairs toilet and shower cubicle.
Bedroom with king-size bed overlooking river Dee.
Upstairs ensuite toilet
Spare bed at top of spiral staircase not suitable for young children.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dannyfevo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from our stay at driftwood cottage and absolutely loved it. The house was spotless and cosy and the added extras like a bottle of wine and chocolates were very much appreciated. The views from the windows were lovely and we spent a lot of time watching the herons with the binoculars provided. The location was perfect as your just out of the busy part of chester but only a 5 minute walk to the shops. We will hopefully be booking again for later this year. Great little house couldn't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the comfy beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Ah what a lovely review. so glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenann7...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A beautiful well equipped and compact modern cottage tastefully furnished. Ideally situated on the river and within walking distance of the city centre. A truly relaxing heaven for couples or individuals. Excellent utilities internally. Superb welcome tray included everything needed, plus an added extra of a bottle of wine & chocs was a lovely surprise! Elizabeth the owner really has thought of everything, we hope to be back very soon.

Karen & Pete

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
Hi both ,glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and many thanks for your kind words.Hope you can come back sometime.
regards Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma t
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Accodation and location”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I would recommend to stay at Driftwood Cottage.
This is a beautiful and cosy property. I will definately be returning.
Each morning we ate breakfast by the window whilst feeding the ducks on the river.
It is a 5 minute walk into chester where everything is you need.
The property is beautiful inside and has all the facilities you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomdation
Liked least: none all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you from us and the ducks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afletcher...
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful cosy riverside cottage.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in this delightful cottage. The location is lovely overlooking the river and we enjoyed watching the birds from the window. Immaculately clean, comfy beds and everything you could need for a holiday, the photo's do not do it justice. Only a short walk over the bridge to the shops. Would recommend a visit to the Cathedral and Chester zoo. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liltz
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute cottage with ideal location and pretty views!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here over New Year from 29 Dec 14-1 Jan 15. We always go away for New Year as our anniversary lands on the 1st and as a young couple who aren't big on night life, we always struggle to find places which are not going to be OTT. I booked this cottage despite never visiting Chester before and it was absolutely lovely.
Before we even got there, communication was great and when we arrived a bottle of wine, bread and milk were left to get us started. The cottage itself was so tiny, perfect for a couple and was beautifully decorated - the added Xmas decorations were really sweet! My boyfriend loved playing with the log burner and we got a supply of wood to get us going but you could buy more from the garage up the road.
The cottage didn't have parking so unfortunately, had to park up the hill but the weather was decent despite the time of year so the walk to/from the car was pleasant. There is a window in the cottage which overlooks the river which I thought was lovely and it was literally a stones throw away from Chester centre. We also visited Chester Zoo which was about 15-20 mins away so cannot stress how great the location was.
Honestly so pleased with our stay, I wanted to stay longer and me and my boyfriend will definitely be coming back! Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$109
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing