We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Priceline
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/05/21
StayForLong
US$135
US$109
View deal
SAVE US$26
Booking.comUS$133
Hotels.comUS$132
getaroom.comUS$135
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
2,178 results
Traveller rating
986
782
268
80
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
986
782
268
80
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge car park executive room city centre reception staff lovely hotel race course leisure facilities public areas bar area little touches checking out saturday night few minutes walk breakfast was excellent weekend break one night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,178 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

We wanted a central location and this hotel certainly ticks that box. It is not a ‘nice looking’ hotel from the outside but the communal areas inside are of a good quality.
We had a king deluxe room and I had to check with reception that we had been given the right room as it certainly wasn’t of deluxe quality. There was nothing in the room that made us feel ‘wow’ this is nice so that was a disappointment. The windows seals were poor so traffic noise was an issue overnight and the sound proofing between rooms is poor so again a poor experience during the night.
The pool area was fine and average size for this type if hotel. The spa facilities were closed due to COVID so cannot comment on them. You have to book the pool and get 30 minutes. I had to go to reception to ask why it wasn’t open on a morning (staff late).

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank phileasf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah Turner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

phileasf2013,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review from your recent stay. I'm sorry to read that the executive room didn't meet your expectations. I'm pleased you were able to make use of our central location in the city.

If I could request when you have a moment to please contact me directly on sarah.turner@valoreurope.com so I can follow up on a few of your points.

Best regards,

Sarah Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

The hotel is close to city's shops and the city wall. Racecourse is not too far away too. Plenty of old buildings to peruse. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast and dinner are very good. Restful place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike_from_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

Honestly cannot thank the staff enough. They were fantastic and very helpful. Breakfast was the best I've ever had and the room was very comfortable. Definitely worth every penny and Will be staying again in the future

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 775karenmarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah Turner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

775karenmarieb,

''Fantastic'' review, thank you! Great to read that the breakfast was the ''best'' you've ever had, excellent news! Thank you for mentioning the team, they're really fantastic, I must agree.

Delighted you had such a great stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kindest regards,

Sarah Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020 via mobile

We had an amazing time in Chester and staying at the Crowne Plaza contributed to that a lot!

The welcome from Chris on reception was a perfect start to the stay and from then on the employees at the Crowne Plaza were spectacular. They were very helpful and happy to help with any request - they even managed to squeeze us in last minute for breakfast and a little trip to the spa.

The room itself was more than large enough for 2 people and yet still had a very cosy feel to it. The bed was soft and, with the blackout curtains, it was very difficult to get out of in the mornings to explore lovely Chester!

The other thing to mention is the buffet breakfast. The breakfast is at the pricier end at £12pp so we did only have this once on our stay. However we were blown away with the options to choose from - they even made eggs benedict or pancakes if they were requested!

For just under £200 for 2 people over 3 nights this was a perfect stay in Chester. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank heathersL8518QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah Turner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

heathersL8518QQ,

Thank you so much for the great 5star review from your recent stay with us. Great to read all the details from your visit, future guests will find this helpful. Appreciate your comments about Chris and the team, they really are great!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best regards,

Sarah Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Arrived on a Monday night , hotel reception is guest friendly and we were met with a smile , felt safe from the time we entered the hotel , all " new rules " were explained from the check in very clearly , all rooms are sealed that they have been deep cleaned .
The hotel is perfectly located for Chester City Centre .
The room was spacious , bright and clean , our view was disappointing as to a building site outside our window but it is what it is .
We didn't eat at the hotel at night but breakfast was booked at prearranged time , they have a very safe and perfected executed system for breakfast .
100 % would book this hotel again

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah Turner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

DarrenR111,

Thank you for leaving your review of the hotel. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our central location to the city, we’re very lucky! Its great to read that you found our ‘’new rules’’ executed well and the room met all your expectations. I’m sorry about the view, we’re having some exciting new developments going up around us but at the moment not creating the best view in certain directions, my apologies. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team this morning, thank you again DarrenR111.

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Sarah Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews