We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Hotels.com
US$101
View deal
Official Hotel
US$131
US$91
View deal
SAVE US$40
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$101
PricelineUS$101
Trip.comUS$131
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,128)
Filter reviews
2,128 results
Traveller rating
827
779
353
103
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
827
779
353
103
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal boat canaletto restaurant business room overlooking the canal city centre club room car park hotel spa health club bar prices lovely hotel breakfast was buffet style course meal no air con sauna and steam room bar area would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,128 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2020

Booked here for two nights to escape the Lockdown blues. The hotel is centrally located, next to the canal, which provides a lovely backdrop and easy route into the City centre.

The room was fine, but dirty. We found clumps of hair underneath the bed and the room was poorly cleaned with nothing re-filled.

The restaurant was tired, dated and the food offered for both breakfast and dinner was exactly the same for both days of our stay. We understand the COVID restrictions, BUT we believe more could have been done.....

Although the staff worked hard, I am not sure we will be coming back.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 944jonathanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Williams-Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2020

Thank you 944jonathanb for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.

We are very glad to hear that there were many aspects of the Hotel that you were able to experience, and would like to thank you for you understanding with the changes that have happened recently due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

We do advise guests upon arrival, via an information leaflet about the facilities within the Hotel, and any changes that may have happened recently, especially within our housekeeping and kitchen departments, as keeping both our customers and team members safe is paramount to us all.

We hope to welcome you again at a future date, so please don't hesitate to contact a member of our reception and reservations team.

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2020 via mobile

This lovely hotel in a great central location is highly recommended. Friendly staff. Good breakfast and a very spacious room. Didn’t try the spa as quite restricted due to COVID. Will definitely visit again

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank juliebG4881VR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Williams-Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2020

Thank you juliebG4881VR for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.

We are very glad to hear that there were many aspects of the Hotel that you were able to experience.

We are very grateful that you took the time to review your recent visit, as they allow us access to guests personal opinions.

We hope to welcome you again at a future date, and ask that you contact a member of our reception and reservations team.

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

We were upgraded to a joining room, however, the road was extremely close to our window and caused constant noise. Also the room had issues with no heating in the bathroom (radiator not working) and no changing of linen and towels, if there for more than 2 nights. Staff were lovely and accommodating, especially in these difficult times. Gym and swimming facilities were good but again limited due to Covid guidelines.
Fellow residents were poor to comply with face masks and no challenge from hotel staff but I cant blame them for their stupidity.
Overall, great location, staff and leisure facilities. Rooms not the best but not terrible.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Williams-Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2020

Thank you Andrew B for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.

We are very glad to hear that there were many aspects of the Hotel that you were able to experience, and would like to thank you for you understanding with the changes that have happened recently due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

We do advise guests upon arrival, via an information leaflet, about all the facilities within the Hotel, and any changes there may have been. Keeping both our customers and team members safe, is paramount to us all.

We hope to welcome you again at a future date, so please don't hesitate to contact a member of our reception and reservations team.

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

We had a great time in Chester. The first thing I noticed was how clean the toilets smelt in reception area and the cleanliness of the hotel in general. The staff were lovely, hard working and professional. In particular Jane and Andrew and another girl with brown hair. My friend and I got a bit too merry on our first night, but the staff were helpful and jolly and did not make us feel uneasy. They bought us sheets and extra towels when needed and a heater. A few extra croissants at breakfast on our last day for the train journey. Only slight negative is bathroom size and shower height. But they accommodated a bath for us.
The pool was amazing and we pretty much had it to ourselves from 5 to 6.
Recommened and would return to this hotel. The staff make it really. The cleanliness and the pool is so nice.
Thanks Mill Hotel. Sorry about the drunkeness on the first night.
You all made it very special 3 days for us. I am sure you won't forget 304.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank roop152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Williams-Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Thank you roop 152 for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit, and it was a pleasure taking to you both. I will make sure Andrew and our colleagues are aware that you have mentioned our team.

We do hope to welcome you again the future, so please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

the hotel is in a good location. parking on site for a reasonable cost. hotel was immaculately clean. staff helpful and friendly. business double room extremely spacious and clean. good choice of breakfast options.
good value. will return

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Williams-Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Thank you Shelley P for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Mill Hotel & Spa.

We are very glad to hear that there were many aspects of the Hotel that you were able to experience. We are very grateful that you took the time to review your recent visit, as they allow us access to guests personal opinions.

We hope to welcome you again at a future date.

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews