We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SoniaMary
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned fro a week staying at the Retreat and what a little gem of an apartment it is. Everything that Cheater has to offer is right on the doorstep as it is tucked away behind a black door on Watergate Street, so the location is perfect.

Pete the owner was there to meet me with the keys and show me around, he was brilliant to deal with from my first email right through to the return of my deposit, which was promptly sent on the day of my return.

The apartment ha s everything you need for a holiday from the very spacious lounge, fully equipped kitchen, to the cosy bedroom with en-suite bathroom. The stairs are steep the photograph on the website depicts them perfectly, I am not great at climbing stairs myself but I managed them fine.

I hope to return again next year and will recommend it to my friends who may want to visit
Chester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john r
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great place to stay when visiting Chester, right in the centre!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The Retreat is a great place to stay for your visit to Chester very near The Rows and Cathedral and convenient for the Race course. Spacious lounge, fully appointed kitchen.
Well worth the climb up the rather steep stairs. Owner very pleasant and deposit was refunded promptly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesL1
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - we loved our stay here and will return”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Retreat for 8 days over the new year period. What a find!

This is a cosy little flat with everything you need for a comfortable stay within the Chester city walls.

Arrangements were easy to make with the owner, who had it refurbished about 6 months ago. We had a lovely welcome, a complimentary bottle of wine and enjoyed our stay.

The flat itself was warm, nicely furnished, homely. Kitchen facilities were good. The new washer/dryer came in handy as we had already been away for a week.

Speak to the owner about parking tips if you're bringing a car - we parked free all week only a few minutes walk away. Also 30 mins parking for loading/unloading just around the back from the flat.

Couldn't be better for location as you're right in the city centre. Pubs either side of you and plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Hope this doesn't become too popular as we'll be coming back for regular visits to family in Chester.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, and I hope to see you again soon, kind regards Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P
Albany, Australia
1 review
“Excellent little apartment close to everything”
Reviewed 3 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Fantastic location. Very cosy apartment, with spacious living area. Lots to see right at your doorstep. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No outside area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose-Iom
Isle of man
1 review
“Perfect City Centre location”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Great location, situated at the heart of Chester's shopping district. Close to all needed amenities - Bus station 5 mins walk, Tescos 5 mins walk, Train station 10 mins walk. Located next to a lovely old pub, the Custom House Inn. Great food and quiet regulars.

The landlord (Pete) was very approachable and upfront about the apartment's quirkiness.
It was Ideal for our short stay (7 days), we would have loved to of stayed longer.

Only negative point would be the steep stairs into the apartment, however if you are able bodied this will cause you no problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of Wifi or Internet Connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing