We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Breakfast”
Review of Wheatsheaf Inn

Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #160 of 576 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had excellent breakfast for 3 ...brilliant value at £2.99 each...and prompt efficient service from Sam

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fjmawdsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi fjmawdsley, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here at The Wheatsheaf Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. I agree with you that we offer a great priced breakfast, and Sam is amazing! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Team Wheatsheaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hated the restaurant joined to our Travelodge so we went here for a meal and loved it; quick service, food was amazing and not overly expensive either... Generous portion sizes and the puddings were amazing... If we lived closer we’d visit again and again!!!

1  Thank RunCycleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi RunCycleDorset, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here at The Wheatsheaf Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, please call in next time you're in the local area! Team Wheatsheaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Me and my family ( husband and 2 young children) have just left this pub. We ordered food at 4.45, not getting served our roast dinners untill 5.55. We ordered 2 roast chicken dinners and 2 children's roasts. The kids ones were OK. My main criticism is that the only veg was peas. Mine and my husband's however, was something to be desired. Chicken on the bone looked grilled rather than cooked, and was very dry. The parsnips and potatoes looked deep fried, to the point that the inside of several of them was empty. The veg also looked like something you would get from a frozen ready bag from Aldi. And very little gravy to add insult to injury. The manager did explain that staff hadn't showed up, hence the wait. He gave us a free round of drinks for the wait and him and the bar staff were lovely. I could see they were stressed and doing there best, hence I have no issue with them at all. We didn't stay for pudding, and personally don't think I would visit again. Which is a shame really, as some of the burgers etc that people were being served looked more appetising.

1  Thank MrsHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MrsHKG, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here at The Wheatsheaf Inn. I'm disappointed to read your visit wasn't a positive one, and especially that the food was particularly unimpressive. We have some great value dishes here at The Wheatsheaf and I personally think our roast dinners are exactly this at £6.99 per person. My apologies for the wait, we do try our very best to not impact our guests in situations where we have staff sickness, however it's nice to read that you found the staff very accommodating in these circumstances. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you and your family we can get it right and we do have some lovely pub food on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Thanks Ben, Sam and Chris. Great meal and huge, huge portions!

We’d broken down nearby and Phil the fantastic AA man recommended this pub at the end of the road. What a stroke of luck! Lovely food. We had all day breakfast, chicken curry, scampi and Gammon-tastic!
All to be recommended...and then my daughter had the chocolate fudge cake - bonkers size!! Please see photo!

Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hi Julian A, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review here at The Wheatsheaf. We are so glad we could turn your break down into such an enjoyable experience! It's always great to get such personal positive feedback about our team. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon. Team Wheatsheaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

.Went for tea with my in laws and my kids - great value for money and the staff were really friendly and very helpful as we had a few fussy eaters. Couldn't fault the evening and will definitely make our visit a regular occurrence.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sampickering114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Sam Pickering114, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here at The Wheatsheaf Inn. We are so glad we could meet your expectations. We really appreciate your kind words, and look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon. Team Wheatsheaf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

 
Rainhill, Merseyside
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing