We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive rooms and a divine breakfast!”
Review of Cotton Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cotton Farm
Ranked #11 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Massive rooms and a divine breakfast!”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A beautiful house traditionally and thoughtfully furnished. The rooms are huge - I'm sure the bedroom and bathroom were bigger than our flat! Plenty of storage space for clothes, you could definitely stay here for much more than a weekend. My only complaint was the shower it was too low for me and I'm only 5ft 8, it wasn't that strong either.

Highlights include the homemade sloe gin in the rooms and a massive choice for homemade breakfasts. Shame we couldn't stay longer as it is set in lovely countryside....super cute sausage dog puppy too!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccy_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
70
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This was great two night break staying in the middle of the country close to the city to enjoy both owrlds. The Hills were extremely welcoming and it felt like staying with friends. The farmhouse is the ideal of a farmhouse with space and comfort. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with tv and radio with very spacious ensuite.The bed was amazing I think it was the best nights sleep away from home ever and then breakfast the morning after was cooked to perfection. If you are looking a peace and quiet with comfort then this is the place to go adn only 4 miles from Chester.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We recently had a two night stay at Cotton Farm and will certainly visit again when in the area. Blissfully peaceful, beautiful room and bathroom - excellent breakfast with a really good choice. We were looked after really well and did not wish to move on when the time came. This is certainly a lovely place to stay and I can only say that it is one of the nicest bed and breakfast stays we have had anywhere. Really lovely and hope we can get back for another visit soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy0139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

What a wonderful setting and welcome. Plenty of great walks in the area - just try not to get lost like I did. Fabulous full breakfast. Would definitely recommend this gorgeous B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2010

There were a lot of good things about this b&b. During our stay, we enjoyed a 'tour' of new born lambs. The bedroom and ensuite rooms were very large and comfortable. It was like having 2 rooms to ourselves. The rocking chair by the bathtub was a nice touch. Although they had a dog, we were assured that no dogs went into the guest part of the house, which was what we wanted. The breakfast was tasty with a variety of different foods and freshly baked bread. The flour for the bread came from a neighbouring farm, which grew the wheat and milled it, using a water wheel, which we saw in operation.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraSue44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.3 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.3 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.9 km away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
5.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Farm

Property: Cotton Farm
Address: Cotton Farm Platts Lane | Cotton Edmunds, Chester CH3 7PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotton Farm is a wonderful farmhouse bed and breakfast close to Chester, with gorgeous large rooms, set in peaceful countryside down a quiet lane. We have a 4-star grading from Enjoy England. Cotton Farm is just 4 miles from Chester, and easily reached by car or taxi.Cotton Farm is something of a hideaway bed and breakfast - we are one of Alistair Sawday's special places to stay. We have three spacious bedrooms, all stylishly decorated and comfortably furnished. The gardens are in the classic English style, with resident hens and greater spotted woodpecker.The Guest Bedrooms are in the original part of the farmhouse, which is at one end of the building - making them very quiet and rather self-contained.The fields around the farm are full of wildlife, and there are riverside walks through wildflower meadows over ancient packhorse bridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cotton Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing