We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip - well worth it”
Review of Shrewsbury Arms

Shrewsbury Arms
Ranked #127 of 609 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated in the idyllic Cheshire countryside, The Shrewsbury Arms is a welcoming and family friendly public house.
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We visited for Sunday lunch a couple of years ago, and decided to return. Fabulous meats (pity no lamb) but the Pork and Beef were excellent and plentiful. Good vegetable bowl between 4, and we had to leave some as too much. Nice apple pie to finish. On the return list again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you Phil R for taking the time to leave us this lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return visit, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018

We visit about once a month and always get good service and good food,,, different story today, sat down and ordered then 10 minutes later the waiter came and told us they had no mixed grill today,,, if a decent chef cant rustle up a mixed grill in a kitchen its a poor show,, every kitchen has the ingredients,,,never mind my £60 was spent elsewhere...

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
Thank AlexS3793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you AlexS3793 for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback. We would firstly like to apologise for your experience with ourselves yesterday, as you have noted this is not the usual standard of service we provide and we are sorry for that. Unfortunately on occasions dishes do sell out, and on this occasion we were unable to provide you with a mixed grill, we do our best in these situations to provide guests with alternatives or adjust dishes to cater for the desire of the guest. We hope you visit us again in the future and experience the usual high standards of both food and service. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Came for a Sunday lunch with the family for a 70th birthday lunch. The food was lovely and service was great. Will definitely be returning again. Can highly recommend the Sunday lunch, best one we have had anywhere locally.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank elisabethh679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you Elisabeth H for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

i haven't been here in a while but gave it a try today , I have to admit the Food was excellent we had Sunday lunch for 2 a mix of 4 meats Beef,Pork Chicken and Ham all of which were very succulent , the veg were very good and roast potatoes perfect.The portions were very generous. I would recommend a visit .I will be back in the near future . The staff were very helpful and even though it was busy the food came quickly.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you Chris S for this lovely reveiw, we are so pelased to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We returned to Shrewsbury arms after a year and a half.we were not disappointed as the service was very good.The food was excellent and my wife was catered for with her intolerances.we will return the next time we are at chester fair oaks caravan club site.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Markuspil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you Markuspil for this lovely review, it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shrewsbury Arms also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Bridge Trafford, Cheshire
 

Been to Shrewsbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing