We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,499)
Filter reviews
3,499 results
Traveller rating
1,605
1,056
496
211
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,605
1,056
496
211
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the marco pierre white restaurant mpw restaurant double tree warm cookies hoole hall outdoor jacuzzi on arrival spa facilities presidential suite garden restaurant lovely hotel garden room great spa my partner building work lovely grounds relaxation room
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 3,499 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel...set in beautiful and extensive gardens..it was great to enjoy breakfast in the dining room..with the bifolding doors open onto the lovely Victorian walled garden.
The spa was enjoyable and relaxing and an added bonus to be able to use the extensive Sun terrace between spa sessions.
The hotel was exceptionally clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful...it was approx a mile and a half walk into Chester city centre.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank culshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear culshaws,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to share your review of your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have taken the time to highlight our standards of housekeeping and that you found our team to be friendly and helpful.

Should your travels bring you back to Chester in the future we would love to be able to welcome you back to stay with us.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to visit the zoo and Chester.
This hotel is very nice ,it’s clean with friendly staff.
The breakfast was good with lots of variety .
We didn’t use the Spa mainly because I object to paying for the hotel and then being asked for a further £15 to use the pool and facilities.
We also didn’t eat in the restaurants because it’s nice to go out rather than eat where you are sleeping .
On arrival we were given a hot cookie I’m not sure of the purpose of this and would rather have had a biscuit snack left in the room especially as one of the cookies was only half a cookie anyway . Also carrying luggage you also have to find a hand to carry a cookie in an oily bag !
The room was clean , but I do wish the remotes for the TVs were checked weekly . With flat batteries it’s hard to use a TV . This is often the case in hotels and not confined to Hilton.
There is lots of hotel parking but once again it would be useful if an area close to reception was designated for hotel guests . It was pouring with rain and when carrying luggage a long way to reception because gym membership people have taken the closest car parking spaces was a nuisance .
We had a nice time though and the hotel is ideally situated for the zoo which was wonderful

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 66JLS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 66JLS66,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting Chester Zoo, and also for taking the time to share your review of your time with us here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be friendly. We are always really appreciative of all guest comments, as we are always looking for ways to improve what we offer in terms of both service and facilities.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location, quiet area but only a very short taxi drive from Chester main town centre.
Room was clean, nicely decorated and quiet / no issue with noise from corridor etc.
We had lunch in the bar/restaurant, and the food was very tasty.
Nice seating area outside / near bar area.
Good selection at buffet breakfast.
A bit of a shame that they charge extra to use facilities such as the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna85000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anna85000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review of your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you were comfortable in your room and that you were able to sleep well.

Should your travels bring your back to Chester in the future we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel in January as a treat for our wedding anniversary
Upon arrival hotel looked fantastic.
At reception things went downhill. Receptionist was miserable. Received card for our quiet room. Asked about pool told we have to pay £15.00pppd. This on top of the price of staying here which was over £100.00pppn already.
THIS IS FRANKLY DISGUSTING.
How can you justify that.
Upon complaining receptionist just showed us where b leave.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mike A,

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion as your wedding anniversary with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester. We are obviously very disappointed to hear that some elements of your stay did not exceed your expectations and for that we would like to offer our sincerest apologies.

We have updated our hotel website and also those of our booking partners with the information regarding the club and spa access, with the supplement being £15.00 per couple per session, with the requirement to reserve a time slot in the club and spa. As our facilities are very popular we want as many guests as possible to be able to enjoy the facilities, which is why there is a requirement to make a reservation.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for my partners birthday, issues started straight away when I was told my bill was £50 more than I expected. When I booked I added extras which I then rang up to cancel, I was told by a gentlemen that it was sorted but it wasn’t so I was charged an extra £50 for things I didn’t want. They took a payment from me for the room when we checked in, it came out of my bank only to be told on check out that we haven’t paid and had to pay a second time and they’ll return the previous payment which I don’t get at all? The woman we checked in with was very nice and friendly but as for everyone else, they weren’t very approachable and didn’t come across very nice at all. Then in the evening, the restaurant/bar staff were more interested in watching the Wales football match to serve us drinks which was very rude. Overall rather disappointment as we use Hilton very often and are usually very happy with the service and hotels but we certainly won’t be retuning here.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ReadDogScum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ReadDogScum,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester and we are sorry to hear that your time here did not exceed your expectations. Please be assured that all of our guest feedback is reviewed and acted upon where necessary to ensure that we are constantly improving what we offer in terms of both service and facilities. Comments like yours will only help us with this aim.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future, when I am certain that your stay would be much improved.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews