We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago and although there was a wedding and an 18th birthday party at the hotel that night we still had a relaxing stay.

The rooms are comfortable, but unfortunately we did not have any bath robes or any mineral water which was a little disappointing for a hotel of this quality. Although the warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival was a nice touch!

Much thought has obviously gone into the pool and spa area which we enjoyed but it was particularly busy during our visit so difficult to get room in the pool to swim!

We ate at the Marco Pierre White bar and grill in the evening, which served a great cocktails and a good steak but we were unimpressed with the sub standard bread, which was charged as an extra and did not have a great deal of flavour.

Would definitely stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karengsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your all-round positive comments.
Unfortunately, we do not provide complimentary water in the majority of our guest rooms, but we are certainly happy to provide robes, when possible, upon your request.
Great to see that you were able to make use of the spa facilities and they were something you enjoyed during your stay.
Apologies you felt the quality of bread in the Marco Pierre White restaurant was lacking flavour, but pleased the cocktail bar and steak were both good.
Excellent news to see you would return and also recommend us. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,329
    871
    387
    153
    82
See reviews for
422
1,370
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this hotel as a party of 8 for a 50th birthday bash. We were promised robes and slippers in our rooms upon arrival which never materialised even after asking. The Spa area was so busy with not enough beds provided. It was dirty with used plasters floating in the pool, slime on the walls, tiles loose and missing - my Mum trod on one and could have seriously hurt herself as it was not attached to the floor at all. We ate at the Marco Pierre White restaurant in the evening, where we waited 2 hours for our main course. They forgot our drinks order twice, got the bill wrong, and told us that we couldn't have the promised residents discount as it was a friday. The queue for breakfast in the morning was 20 people long, as you had to wait to be seated with dirty tables waiting to be cleared and inadequate staff and facilities. When we complained at checkout we got nothing more than an mumbled apology. I wouldn't recommend to anyone this hotel or spa to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolanc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Firstly, please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay and please note how disappointed I am to see you left our Hotel feeling clearly dissatisfied.
With regards to your wait for breakfast, as I am sure you can appreciate we are incredibly busy over the weekends with the majority of guests joining us for breakfast at the same time.
Our Hotel staff are regarded as both helpful and completely adequate in their roles, which is paramount in upholding our guest’s expectations.
As you can see, both the spa and Marco Pierre White’s restaurant generate much positive feedback, so it is upsetting to see you felt otherwise.
I understand your reluctance to return again, if you do however, we will do our upmost to ensure you enjoy your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
230 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Lukewarm reception when we arrived.
Room very good and excellent spa and gymn facilities.
Service at breakfast was poor - having to wait to be shown to a table for no apparent reason. Food was good however tables were left uncleared again for no apparant reason.
Bar service was erratic.
Good potential yet to be fully realised.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Great that your room was comfortable and that you were able to make use of our excellent spa facilities.
Apologies that you felt service during breakfast was disappointing, but still a positive that you were pleased with the quality of food offered to you.
We are very much aware of our areas for improvement, but as a team I believe we are achieving the high standards and expectations we set ourselves.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

What a fantastic hotel. My partner and I stayed overnight on the 12/02/12. I cannot fault the hotel. We were greeted at reception and given warm complimentary cookies. Our room was spotless and had a huge bed! The spa is amazing - complimentary towels are provided. We had a very relaxing afternoon before a 2 course meal at the Marco Pierre White restaurant - £21.50 each with a £3.00 supplement for steak. Well worth the money! I would recommend it to anyone. Breakfast the following morning in the Brasserie was suberb! What a fantastic choice and a lovely comfortable setting. All the staff we met in the hotel were polite and very accommodating - nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is easily accessible and in a great location - close to Chester City Centre, Cheshire Oaks and Chester Zoo. Our stay was very enjoyable and I really look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Your comments praising the Hotel as faultless are outstanding and gives all members of staff the boost to keep striving to achieve this.
Fantastic news that staff were both polite and accommodating, so note these comments will be passed on.
Great that the spa, as always, provided you with a memorable experience and dinner in Marco Pierre’s White restaurant was both good value for money and of a high quality.
We too, hope that you stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed as a family for one night. Had a great time. Had a family room - was lovely, clean lots of space for a family of four. We all enjoyed the Spa area, pool and jacuzzi. Staff really friendly. Had a meal in hotel at night, kids menu great. I chose the buffet option, choice of starters, mains and puds for £17.50 - great value as was able to have seconds of main course. Overall would recommend this hotel for couples and families.
Thank you Doubletree.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink12345__55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.
We think that dining with us is great value for money, so brilliant that you thought so too.
The Hotel is very much a family orientated one and so I am pleased that it was here that you were able to spend some quality time together.
I hope that both you and your family plan to stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
10.9 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
3.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.5 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.5 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing