We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Priceline
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$133
US$124
View deal
SAVE US$9
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Hotels.comUS$124
Trip.comUS$133
eDreamsUS$126
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,668)
Filter reviews
2,668 results
Traveller rating
1,265
779
400
139
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,265
779
400
139
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews race course champagne bar desirable room enviable room fifth floor car park lovely hotel city centre eggs benedict per night reception staff an upgrade standard room huge bed my partner stayed for one night breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,668 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the abode in Chester recently. Wish I hadn’t though. The room was tiny and shabby and the bed was uncomfortable and all for double the price of a premier inn, where I had stayed the week before and had a large room with a great nights sleep and couldn’t fault it one bit.
There was nothing special about staying at the abode and all the car park spaces were full, so was told to park in car park down the road and walk in the rain!
It is also the first time I have been allergic to hand sanitizer, so dread to think what was in it.
We will not be staying again! Complete waste of money!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Footprints522778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig Phillips, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

Dear Footprints522778,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay.

I am sincerely sorry that your time with us wasn't as enjoyable as you hoped for and would like to reassure your feedback has been taken on-board.

If you would like to discuss your feedback please feel free to contact me directly.

Merry Christmas,

Craig Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

Expensive! Bar is closed which wasn’t clear on website. Drinks service to the room but ridiculously expensive. Breakfast is a cold hamper. Overall spent £176 for room and breakfast with £12 parking, not good value for money

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank benrec0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig Phillips, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

Dear benrec0rd,

We appreciate you taking your time to review your recent experience.

I am sorry that overall you are disappointed with our current offering and hope you would consider returning once we re-open our Brasserie & Bar.

Merry Christmas,

Craig Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

Improvement needed on lighting in rooms. Have mentioned this on a previous stay. However it is still exactly the same. The hotel reasonable price and great location.

Shower luke warm reported on leaving - Room 221

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ritaquayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig Phillips, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

Dear ritaquayle,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay.

Your feedback has been taken on-board.

Merry Christmas,

Craig Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

Room great very clean and comfortable. It was just a pity the hotel facilities were not available , it did out a damper on our anniversary celebrations .we will come back when the civic pandemic has gone away and we can enjoy our stay at the abode

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rjones360789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig Phillips, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

Dear rjones360789,

We really appreciate your lovely feedback about your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Merry Christmas,

Craig Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020

we requested extra bed but was not in room on arrival. reception confirmed it was booked and it got delivered while we were out for a walk. Bathroom was mouldy and tatty which is not what you expect for these prices. when I complained at checkout they offered me free parking which is not the point is it

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank d0r99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig Phillips, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2020

Dear d0r99,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I am deeply disappointed and sorry that we have let you down on this occasion and would like to reassure you we have acted on your feedback so i would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Please feel free to contact me directly next time you are looking at staying in Chester and i will personally make sure you are very well looked after.

Best Wishes,

Craig Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews