We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
Ranked #255 of 609 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had limited time on business trip to find a restaurant. Won ton soup was ok but nothing special. Main included king prawn fried rice. Prawns were tasteless. Service was a little slow considering I was only one there. Not somewhere I am likely to go back to

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank HSM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Utterly disappointed In the food and customer service I received from 'the new management'. The banquet for 2 (pictured) was extremely poor with no meat in the chop rolls, the ricdiclously small portion of seaweed and the missing beef samosas just added insult. The mains were no better, small and not worth the money, ordering a chicken kung po was laced with cashew nuts which I was not advised. summer palace have never done this.(And Having a nut allergy to this type of nut)
When i phone to discuss my matter I received a frosty reception and was quickly ushered off the phone.
You also have to pay £1.50 to have it delivered which again was not advised after spending around £30.

Bottom line is...
Shame the new management are not very friendly.
save your money go somewhere else and you'll have a fuller belly and more money in your pocket.

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank Ambassador769945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Absolutely delicious. Under new management , first time we have had takeaway and everyone was impressed. I loved my Kung pao, was lovely that it had sone veg in it. There were cashews in it which was fine for me but I know that wouldn’t work for everyone. Staff were friendly. I’m sure we will eat here sgsin

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Taylorscamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

I've been getting my Chinese takeaways from here for years and always love the flavours... they have a banquet for 2 for £28 and you get loads of amazing starters, duck with pancakes and 2 mains with rice.. this is guaranteed to fill you up and have a tasty dish for the following day.. I've sat in the restaurant a few times and the decor is a bit dated but can never complain about the food..

People are always quick enough to complain so I wanted to make sure praise was given where it was due..

Keep up the good work, oh and they are always have to change / tweak the menu. We love this..

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

our first time visit to this restaurant and could not fault it in all aspects, staff,food,and a spotless place to eat ,will definitely be going back there on our next visit to chester

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank robsid544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing