We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
32
51
37
27
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
51
37
27
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooked to perfection full english comfortable room eating places five minute walk guest house is stayed here for two nights plenty of hot water one night stay town centre breakfast was excellent robert fawlty cathedral iron conservatory twin
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Pleasant room, nice views over the garden. Bathroom, though small, looked recently refurbished and was adequate. Breakfast on the first morning was ok, though slightly dated starter choices ( prunes, grapefruit segments and olives! ). It was, however, served by friendly, attentive staff member.
Absence of staff on reception on arrival was forewarned, however we were somewhat surprised and concerned to find no staff in the hotel on Sunday morning when we arrived downstairs for breakfast to find the dining room locked. We discovered the owner had been away over night and had met with travel disruption on his return journey causing delay.
It would appear that the hotel was left unattended all night apart from paying guests! Thank goodness there were no emergencies or accidental activation of fire alarms as occurred on previous night.
We would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank j0spurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We arrived with whoever was manning the reception desk's car nigh on blocking the front entrance when we clearly had a disabled person and elderly person in our group. The car never ever got moved! That was the last we saw though of the person manning reception who had very poor knowledge of the area and computer skills. Even the reservation was a fiasco with the phone not working properly and getting "cancellation" Emails that had nothing to do with our reservation!

We arrived hoping for Sunday lunch BUT that was not going to be, read the "Sample" menu...there wasn't a thing that was on the menu to be offered and when we inquired about where else we could go the answer we got was very vague and uncertain.

The rooms themselves had been repainted recently and certain windows and doors didn't close or open properly. Furniture in the rooms have seen better days and the toilet in one of the rooms on the ground floor was not even straight and you couldn't sit on it properly because you banged your knees up against the cabinet! Beware of the milk and other refreshments in the room check the "sell by dates!" It is possible that one of our party got very poorly due to cups of tea plus the milk in the room!

Breakfast was GREAT...hence the second "star" on our grading of the place. The female staff were extremely pleasant, professional and the food was really good! The same staff later on were also helpful outside the dining room.

The absent reception seemed to enjoy blaring out music at absolutely deafening levels throughout the mornings we were there and sometimes it was nearly impossible to pass reception as it was sooo loud!

On our final day as were leaving one of our party was extremely sick and when we asked for some plastic bags or something to "help" us get home, the normally never existing reception could only muster up large coffee filters and bread bags with holes in them!!!! FORTUNATELY though, from behind the scenes came the same kitchen staff from breakfast who sensibly found some of the right things and a sensible bucket!

Sorry it really is not a place we would ever recommend. Best to seek accommodation elsewhere!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms not so bad.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hachiouji-brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

My elderly mum and her friend both in their 80s arrived on Saturday evening . No one on reception just a key left on desk with their name on a piece of paper next to it . No staff around .
Went to get an evening meal but there was no one .. totally empty so they had to drive to Tesco to buy a sandwich .In the early hours of the morning there was terrible banging on their wall so they called reception but no answer just facility to leave message which they did S was scares that this loud banging went on for over half hour . No one rang them back or came to their aid .
The next morning they went to check out .. and they told the manager about what had happened... he said she was a liar about what had happened and was lying about leaving a message . He then threw a piece of paper/bill towards them and it had wrong name on and a bill for £200.. she said it’s not my bill .. he took it back and said she was a very rude woman and gave her another bill , again with someone else’s name on and different amount . She said again it isn’t the correct bill and showed her confirmation, he replied oh just pay it and get out and don’t ever come back ... she did pay and turned to leave and he cane out from behind the desk and said go on get out and good riddance ! I am disgusted and upset my mum was treated in this way . She is the quietest Kindest lady you woukd ever meet . ...what a way to treat their patients guests and especially to elderly ladies .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank chardsFelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Nyton for a night during a tour of the Midlands and North England. When we arrived (about 8pm) there was nobody on reception. Our keys were there with a note welcoming us and directing us to our room. Our room was quite tired. Dated decor with a recently refreshed but minuscule bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and the staff their serving were attentive and pleasant, but again, when we left, Reception was unmanned so we dropped our keys on the desk and left. Such a shame.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SurreyTweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

On the one hand, an excellent location, a short walk from the centre of Ely, with a lovely garden - though a bench or two would be a good addition as there is one rather decrepit one. The breakfasts were fine, a good full English. The room was well equipped, though rather small for a family room, but there were only two of us so that wasn't so important - though the bathroom was quite tiny. The bed was comfortable.

On the other hand, there was a noise problem. We could hear the TV from the next room, which was irritating, especially before 7am! More annoying was the fact that the (ground floor) room was right next to the Gents' toilet for the bar, and every time someone used it the hand dryer was audible and the door to the corridor went SLAM when the user left. There was a party one night and we could hear people shouting at around 10.30pm. Some noise went on until after midnight. I would expect better than this for a four-star hotel

The references to Fawlty Towers in some reviews is amusing - one night the fire alarm kept going off. It wasn't a fire, or even a drill!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 9, next to the toilet.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Archy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews