We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to standard tonight”
Review of The Fish House Ely

The Fish House Ely
Ranked #23 of 112 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$9
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Reviewed 14 July 2018

we are regulars at this fish and chip shop - great food and normally good service. Visited tonight and it was not up to standard waited 25 minutes for 2 cod and chips. the usual staff weren't there and they didn't know what they were doing. people who came in behind us were served first and when i was served she said my ticket had been put at the back instead of the front. i asked for a few more chips as the portion was very small, she just said that is a regular portion - which it wasn't going on previous visits. It spoilt our evening a bit and if this had been our first visit we wouldn't be back.

Thank tillyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

First of all please accept my apologise for the service you received the other evening as we do pride ourselves on our customer service, we do have some new staff members and I will try to establish what went wrong as this is unacceptable.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and informing us on where we got it wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We were in Ely for the weekend and just fancied some fish and chips for dinner. Read other reviews and tried it, so glad we did. We ate in and it was lovely, fresh fish, hot, lovely crisp batter and the chips great. Very large portion and good value, £17:50p inc. hot drinks and gherkins. Brilliant.

1  Thank gasman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Glad to read you enjoyed your meal with us, thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Brilliant, they tell you there will be 10 scampi and there are. So much better than the childsize portions one sometimes gets in pub fish and chips.

Everyone is so nice here and they can’t do enough for you. Proper well nice!

Thank singledinercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback and for your time to write a review, I will pass on your comments to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Really tasty fish and chips. We had to go back twice! The mini meal is excellent value. There's a lovely courtyard to sit in at the back.

Thank stephgalway2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Very well run Fish and chip shop. It cost more to eat in. £17.80 for two fish and chips with bread and butter and two large mugs of tea. Perfectly cooked. Very clean.

Thank 126aflie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish House Ely also viewed

Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Fish House Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing