We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Guest House
Ranked #80 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Myself and my daughter needed a place to stay over night as we were going to Cambridge to see Mcfly in concert at the Corn exchange. The Regency Guest House was exactly what we needed, a bed for the night. The continental breakfast was great as were the staff, check in was easy and the lady who checked us in was polite, friendly and informative. The lady who served breakfast was also very friendly.

When you book online you are send a confirmation email and a few days later an email with a code number on to enter into the front door so you can enter the building. Your name and room key will be in the side in the hall. We were lucky to be checked in personally, but the former seems easy and straight forward.

Everything was clean and modern looking, and only a short walk to the start of the shops.

We did hear a little noise from the pub next door but only the clearing up of the glass bottles, nothing that disturbed our night. The bed was very comfortable, and the room had everything in it that you should need.

There are a lot of stairs to the rooms but maybe if you asked personally when booking they could book you into a room lower down in the building.

Yes, £95 a night does seem expensive BUT the location of the guesthouse warrants the price, and that certainly was what attracted us, as we didn't want a long walk late at night to our accommodation after the concert had ended.

Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay and would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    46
    20
    22
    45
See reviews for
14
68
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a super little guest house, with lovely views over Parker's Piece, a ten min walk from the train station, and ten mins into town proper. Clean linen and pretty good standard of furniture.

Sure, if you are elderly there are a lot of stairs but that is the only downside. This is a basic and clean Guest House which is ideal for Downing College, Emmanuel, and this side of town. Breakfast was filling and nutritious - a bit of a big ask that it finishes at 9am on the weekends but then again it is a B&B. TV didnt work, but so what, this is an ideal base. Would stay again for sure as many hotels in Cambridge are over-priced by comparison. Also, returning guests get a discount which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking Parker's Piece
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBatterseaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our experience the first time around with the Regency Guest House was quite pleasant and so we recommended this place to my in-laws when they were visiting us. Bad decision!

First because my in-laws were on the elderly side and having to walk up the uneven stairs (to enter the basement apartment or to use the bathroom) wasn't such a great idea. Secondly, my father-in-law is over 6+ feet and he had to bend down when walking up the stairs or else, he'll hit his head. Obviously, we mentioned this concern and they didn't seem to understand - they could not accommodate us by moving my in-laws. Fine. But they were not pleasant to talk to. Then there was also the plumbing issue in the bathroom and no hot water (like they didn't know they had guest coming)! It was an unpleasant experience trying to argue with them to get someone to fix the issue. This in turn made their short vacation in Cambridge unnecessarily stressful and uneventful! Next time, we're better off in a hotel!

Room Tip: Ask to be put up at the guest house and if you don't want to walk the stairs, ask to be put on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daintyponytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

i honestly chose this hotel because i didn't want to spend too much on a place to sleep, my room is nice, small if you're used to giant rooms but to be honest it's more than big enough for me. it has a tv and a sink in it and the bathroom is separate but not a biggy. it's an old victorian house so tight staircase that gives it an almost sherlock holmes feel, i really like it. it's right in town next to what i need to visit anyway and has a good bed a warm heater (i had to turn it up as it's damn cold tonight) it's very clean and way better than any dorm/university room. the pub is close so it's a little noisy on a friday night, but if you expect a city to be quiet you're kidding yourself. i'm very please with this hotel. it is fairy expensive but also very cheap by cambridge standards. there is a cute little kettle with enough coffee for 4-5 cups so i'd suggest you get you're own supplies if you only drink tea. for my single room it's a standard single bed with feather down bedding, all very clean and warm with a wollen blanket if it gets too cold. a little space to hang clothes and wifi access.

Room Tip: i slept in room 6 on the second floor, as i said it is an old house with tight stairs, i love it but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palegothicangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have a nights stay booked in Feb which we booked via Booking.com.
Now when we were looking through the list of available hotels on this site, there it was highlighted that there was 'free cancellation'.
We realised after booking that we'd picked the wrong date. Tried contacting the B&B to see if we could amend the date, but they have refused to do so. Actually tell a lie, we can change it but we would incur a charge, which would be the full room fee that we've already paid. I have raised my annoyance with both the guest house & Booking.com regarding false information given on the advert regarding the 'free cancellation' (or lack of). Rip-off Britain at its best!! Cant comment on the actual B&B itself as we are yet to stay, I would have hoped it would be what we had expected it to be, but this experience has put us right off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bedshaped79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Regent Apartment
#19 of 37 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Guest House

Property: Regency Guest House
Address: 7 Regent Terrace, Cambridge CB2 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Regency Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Guest House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing