We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
8
17
7
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
17
7
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If you don't mind small basic rooms and tiny bathrooms, this B&B is a good choice in Cambridge. Everything was very clean. Flat-screen TV, and tea and coffee facilities in room, but bring hair-dryer. Rooms are very quiet, at least no.4 was, no traffic noise from the main road. Very well served by public transport to central Cambridge (buses 1 and 2), otherwise it's a very short stroll to beautiful Jesus Green and if you like walking you can reach the centre on foot. The owners are extremely nice and they serve you breakfast downstairs - tea, coffee, cereals, toasts with jams or honey, orange juice, boiled eggs, fruit. If you're out and about all day and just need a quiet, convenient place for the night, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina_Bianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I spent one night at Carlton Lodge. It is well placed for central Cambridge, the technology park etc.All exactly as described on their website. If you are looking for something 'flash' it's not for you. The accommodation is simple, has a very friendly owner, is warm and clean and provides a substantial, though not cooked breakfast. I would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed 3 nights there. The room was clean with tea and coffee. The owner is very friendly.
Surely at Carlton Lodge I found the best value for money option. I really liked it and recommend for short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoukasLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had one night here only, directed there by the Cambridge Tourism Office. The good points - the room was quiet, the owner is friendly and welcoming, the rooms have flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. But this is a very basic B&B, rather dated and with otherwise minimum facilities. The very small ensuite (ie no room to swing a metaphorical cat) had a musty smell, some mould on the ceiling, and loose toilet seat. Power shower really wasn't. I passed on the breakfast - there is no cooked breakfast and the croissants still wrapped in cellophane with a used by date about two weeks before my stay (so kept in the freezer perhaps) did not appeal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bettoneyvere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My stay in Cambridge was necessitated by working in the area for a few months. I stayed in various other establishments in the area before staying at Carlton Lodge and did not find the same value for money anywhere else. Carlton offers (to the best of my knowledge) the most affordably priced short-medium term accommodation in the Cambridge area. The people who run this establishment are very friendly and flexible, and were keen to make sure that my stay was as comfortable as possible. I was able to sleep at night without any disturbances, noise, security concerns, etc., and felt as though I could call upon the staff at any time if need be. Having stayed there nearly two months, I can say without a doubt that Carlton Lodge offers truly excellent budget accommodation - something very rare in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews