We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay and once again a pleasant and welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“4 night stay and once again a pleasant and welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in room over-looking the River Cam for 4 nights during March. Also had another room for our son over a 2 night period and his room was also overlooking the river. I think you have to pay more for these rooms; if you don't do that you will be given a room which doesn't overlook the river. One night we paid £200 for a room but it does vary on availability and how late you leave a booking. We have Hilton Honors Gold membership so had a free breakfast, free car parking and free wi-fi in our room. We liked our room very much. Large and comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant (dinner) twice and on both occasions the service and food was very good. There are some flaws with this hotel, for sure, but it is a good base for Cambridge and if you get a river-view room it is peaceful and very pleasant. We hope to return here when next in Cambridge.

Room Tip: If you want a good view and more peace and quiet, as for a room overlooking the River Cam/hotel gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Kartouche, Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and also had chance to experience the Riverside Brasserie for breakfast and dinner. It is always a pleasure to welcome back repeat guests and have the opportunity to provide a comfortable stay. I hope it is not too long before you are able to return. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    768
    370
    169
    69
See reviews for
436
829
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Good location and staff but the room did not live up to expectations. Very small and oddly shaped with an awful view of the road, houses and reception area. The "king sized bed" was very small but then a large bed would not have fitted in the room. We tried to book dinner at the hotel but it was fully booked. The car parking charges where a total surprise. Overpriced.Much confusion over the use of Camcard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear JRB55, Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by certain elements of your stay and that the standard room you had reserved did not meet your expectations. Our car parking charges are displayed on the front page of our website as it is certainly not our intention to hide these charges from our guests. I hope that future Alumni events may bring you back to Cambridge and that you decide to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

had a weekend break ,staff very friendly .Room was very clean and welcoming .But the weekend break was spoilt by car parking charge such a cheek charging 34 pounds .Would not reccomend this hotel have stayed in other 4 star hotels who do not charge for car parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear susan h, Thank you for your recent review. It is great to read that you found the rooms clean and the staff friendly. I am however sorry that the car parking charges would deter you from visiting again or recommending the hotel. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary. I hope that in the future you may decide to return to the hotel. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

There is no doubt that this hotel is the perfect location in Cambridge, right on the river with a nice brasserie overlooking.
The service was nice, the room clean and food good.
However when you pay almost £220 for a double room (overlooking the car park) I think additional charges such as £17.50 for the car park, £7 for an hour of WiFi and £18 per person for breakfast are unfair and too expensive. You expect charges for budget airlines and travelodge hotels not 4 star hotels. As I was told its Hilton policy and for this reason alone I won't be returning. It's a shame because it is a nice hotel, just too expensive.
I appreciate that Cambridge parking is expensive, other hotels offer free parking in Cambridge, and breakfast charges are standard but I wouldn't expect this of this priced room at the quality it is.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelbel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear kelbel24, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you were happy with the quality of your stay however disappointed to read that you felt it did not represent good value. The hotel does offer various rates to accommodate the needs of all travellers; some room only and others bed and breakfast. Our rates can fluctuate depending on demand and occupancy levels so it is always best to check on line for the rate that best suits your needs. Booking further in advance does also tend to offer the better rate. Breakfast can be added to a room only rate upon arrival for £12 per person, reduced from £16.95 per person and complimentary internet access is available 24 hours a day in the hotel business centre on the ground floor. I hope that you will be able to return to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in a river view king room. It's a welcoming, clean, modern, beautifully furnished hotel in the centre of Cambridge. We had a lovely breakfast with lots to choose from and very good evening cocktails in the bar. The room had Ipod connection, which was also great. There was air-con in the room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Laura A, Thank you for your recent review. It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from your room to the breakfast and even had the opportunity to sample some of our bar tenders cocktails. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
1.1 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
880 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing