We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
50
105
91
37
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
105
91
37
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the flying pig railway station a family run hotel town centre botanical gardens free car park bit dated business trip priced hotel cooked breakfast convenient location rooms are comfortable friendly hotel visit cambridge leave the car central cambridge twin room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Having stayed in some of the hotel chains recently, it was refreshing to find a family run hotel which prides itself on good value, clean rooms and home cooking. It was a bonus to be able to have dinner in the hotel - prepared to order with a daily changing menu. We opted for a deluxe double - cheaper than a standard double in one of the bigger hotels - which was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a convenient location between the railwal station and the centre of town.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennial1, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was very clean and comfortable for you, this is exactly what we like to hear from our guests. We hope to have you back once again in the future at The Centennial!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel is situated closed to the botanical garden, it is not far from the center (around 20 min. By walk), the price is very good, very friendly staff, clean, the breakfast is delicious (a la menu, English breakfast), but they also have cereals and fruits.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tuxyanonim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennial1, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. There is nothing we like to hear more than our guests enjoying their stay with us! I will share the compliment to all of our staff. We hope to see you back at The Centennial once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

I got a good deal from the internet. Looking good on the website but the room was so small and no elevator. I got a room on the top floor and have to carry my suitcase to go up the extra narrow stairs. It was a horrible experience.

The lobby is very small but has a good/ comfortable living room next to it which is the only good thing I can remember about this place.

If you like old fashioned hotel it has what you need.

Room tip: Request a room on the back side. I got the one in the front very noisy from people drinking late at night shouting on street.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelMania2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennial1, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Good Afternoon, TravelMania2018

We are saddened to hear that your experience at The Centennial Hotel was not up to standard. We pride ourselves on our service and wish you had pointed out your uncomfortable experience to us during your stay.

The room you booked online was a 'Budget Single Room' - These rooms are advertised as budget rooms as they are smaller and on the second floor, but offer an alternative for a traveller on a budget as accommodation in Cambridge City is on average, expensive.

We would love to accommodate you again in the future, perhaps in a Standard or Deluxe room in order to make your stay a more pleasant experience.

Kind Regards
The Centennial Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

I have stayed here a couple of times recently. The hotel has been converted from a row of terrace houses, which makes it a bit of a rabbit warren. Pleasant enough place with a lounge on the ground floor and a dining room & bar in the basement. Good breakfast and an interesting selection for dinner (menu changed daily). Car park at the back. Five minutes walk from the station. No AC. No lift.

Room tip: Quieter at the back.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennial1, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Dave. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at The Centennial. We take your points on board and always try to improve our service through feedback received. We hope to see you at The Centennial again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We got a room at the back to cut down traffic noise. Because the window had to be open a lot (the heat wave!) we still got lots of noise. No air conditioning (common in the UK, still) but they did provide an electric fan. The place had a 1960s feel and the room was very small. The bathroom door would not open fully because of the bed and two people could not pass each other.
Cambridge is expensive but this seemed poor value for money.
Plus side, quite close to the rail station and very close to the Botanic Gardens.

Room tip: A little quieter at the back
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sadoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews