We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
156
236
214
115
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
236
214
115
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fitzwilliam museum traditional hotel trouser press night porter city centre kings college two night stay large bathroom breakfast was excellent buffet style comfortable hotel twin room enjoyable stay buyagift
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay here. It was right in the centre of Cambridge which is a beautiful city. This was the perfect base, the check in was easy and our room at the top was huge. Everything was clean and bright. When our room was somehow overlooked by housekeeping after our first night, a quick call to reception was all it took to get all that was needed and brought up to us in no time. The receptionist could not have been more efficient. The hotel is near most of the colleges and all the staff were very friendly and helpful plus if you fancy staying in you are well catered for with the restaurant and bar. It wasn't a long enough time to see everything but when we go back we will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RachelL3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear RachelL3223
Thank you for the terrific post and delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

The enterances make you feel like you’re entering a by gone age. Our room was definitely showing its age, but it was generally clean. They have actual keys!!! I don’t think I’ve had an actual key for a hotel room in this country for about five years!
Be warned the beds are VERY soft, so you may well be left with a bit of a creaky back.
Although the hotel faces directly onto a busy main road, our room (at the back of the hotel) was very quiet ( we had the window open all night).
If You’re planning on having breakfast you HAVE to book ( unless you want some attitude) and make sure you get there early!
Breakfast was a waste of money, I had pre booked breakfast for both of us when I booked but on arrival we were told that we hadn’t! So re booked it with the rather rude receptionist. The next morning only one of us had been booked into the restaurant but worse was the attitude of the serving staff. Breakfast operates until 9.30, that’s what in the in room literature said, we arrived at the restaurant at 9, thinking we’d have time to eat well before they stopped serving. It’s a good job that we decided to select the cooked items first because at 9.15 they were cleared away “You didn’t want any more did you” asked the head waitress after half the items had been removed and whilst instructing the young waiter on how to remove the rest. Managed to grab a couple of slices of toast before our mugs and plates were removed from under our noses, without a word said by the young waitress. We exited the room at 9.25. So a mug of hot water, a sausage, a rasher of bacon, a spoonful of baked beans and a slice of toast cost me £10, whilst being made to feel extremely uncomfortable.
We would stay again because of the fantastic position of the hotel and the fact that it has on site parking spaces ( £15 per 24 hrs) but obviously we won’t be having breakfast there

Room tip: Get a room at the back to ensure you get a quiet night
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Ann A
Thank you for the post and delighted our location suited your needs. I have to say your comments about
a rude receptionist are rather unique to you- In the last 10 weeks a member of the team has been named on TripAdvisor for being helpful/friendly/welcoming on 12 separate occasions.
Secondly we do not start closing down breakfast at 9am. If there is only the odd table left to arrive by 9.15 and the buffet is exhausted we may take in the hot items only, but we do then offer freshly plated hot breakfast instead.
If this was not communicated to you correctly then of course an apology is warranted.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

We arrived as a large group to check in for a murder mystery meal organised by an external company but with use of the function room. Lady on check in was polite and we were quickly given rooms. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the decor in reception was traditional and beautiful.

We arrived in the bar pre- meal and had no issues with the bar, we were in a private function room paid for as part of our pre arrangement with the murder mystery team however were made to feel distinctly unwelcome by a female waitress named Margaret, she was rude to a large group of the women during the meal and impatient with food deliveries. I understand that feeding a large group can be stressful, but if she works in hospitality then i would expect her to be proffesional but she was rude and made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome.

The following morning we returned to the room to remove balloons and other decorations, however were met with an empty room with all items within missing. I was grateful for the clean up however was not advised that we were to empty the room the night before. On arrival in the morning, items were missing including posters the women had signed and a material zanzibar bag containing string and other poster items. ( It may seen irrelevant , however the bag was from my honeymoon and of great sentimental value ) this was not a disposable bag and contained items of mine yet appeared apparently disposed of.
One lady in the group asked Maragret, if she was aware who had cleaned the room or perhaps moved the bag, she said she and the night porter had, but she was dismissive and uninterested in helping us retrieve any items. If the items had been thrown away, she did not care or was not willing to look into it to help at all.

All in all, the hotel was nice and the event enjoyable however it was ruined by Margaret's attitude towards the group and lack of customer service or care.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Departure09231646712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Departure09231646712
As per our communication we are taking this conversation away from this domain.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

A one night stay before a meeting. Waited at reception to check in. Had to go to the bar to find someone although a staff member came out of staff door opposite reception and then changed his mind and went back. Wore my coat in the room as so cold even with radiator full on. No heat at all in bathroom. Very little water from shower, which although electric took ages to change temperature. Reported temperature to reception and was told bathroom heating only comes on when light is on. May be true in some rooms but this room (208) has only a very old radiator - which was still just as cold and so was the bathroom after leaving the light on for over an hour.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Carol T
Thank you for the post and please accept our apologies for the cold areas during your stay, a major heating pump failed and unfortunately these are not on the shelf items to easily replace. We did go out and purchase some 30 portable heaters though for guest use, I am sorry if they were all in use.
The heating is now fully restored and I would like to think this is treated as a one off situation and hope we may be of service again if you are returning to Cambridge.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We visited reception & our room. I can make no comment on the rest of the hotel. We were put in the Fitzwilliam apartment. It was bigger than the downstairs of our house. Completely ridiculous for one night but great to have the space. Near the road but quiet. Great to have outside space. A carpark in the centre of Cambridge is a real bonus too.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GaryandCarol52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear GaryandCarol52
Thank you for the 5 star review and we do hope to welcome you back again.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews